Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
What a great recipe! I totally didn't follow the recipe ingredients because I had a lot of various beans in the pantry and wanted to use them up. I also had an coil of smoked sausage that needed a place to call home. They all blended well together and the sauce as written was just fantastic. My only negative comment would be that the serving size is way off. I cut the recipe in half ans still had 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
After reading other reviews about quantities, I halved the recipe for hubby and me, as he is not too fond of beans. I had 2 Italian sausages cooked and left over, so chopped those fine and added in place of ground beef. Also fried the onions with 2 cloves garlic. I used pinto, mixed beans and canned pork and beans. I think you could incorporate any type of similar beans (white, navy, red kindney, pinto, garbanzo etc.) I cooked for 6 hours in slow cooker on low. At first I thought it was too sweet, but hubby ate them without any complaint so far, so that's a good sign. They are quite tasty! The portions are a little misleading as we eat them as a side dish, so half of this recipe actually will do us for 4 meals... I've already frozen enough for 2 of us for a meal, as per another reviewer's suggestion. Very simple to make and will try this with the ground beef too... It's such a simple recipe to be creative with.... thanks to Aunt Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Basically, the traditional Calico Beans recipe. Tasty and always popular, and you can make it your own by adding chopped red and/or green peppers, using hot Italian sausage or breakfast sage sausage in place of the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I use whatever canned beans I have on hand, and instead of canned baked beans with bacon, I fry up a few slices of bacon, crumble it, and add it to the top of the beans before baking. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Really good and super easy. Added garlic and sausage. Used turkey instead of beef....pinto beans with jalapeno and kidney beans instead of butter. Used amount of brown sugar listed.....way too sweet!! Maybe 1/4 c next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Everyone raved about these beans at my family picnic! I only made a a few modifications. I didn't have bacon, but I did use the ground hamburger and Bob Evans ground sweet sausage that I sauteed together in skillet with onions and minced garlic. I thought it might be overly sweet with one cup of brown sugar, so I used half and it was perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Loved these beans. DH usually will not eat them but he flipped over these! He espically liked the butter beans. I will make these again for a potluck or family gathering. Because the recipe as stated makes a ton! I cut the recipe in half, 2 servings for dinner, and 1 serving for lunch the next day. Then I put 7 individual containers in the freezer. So math from me would be about 20 servings for a whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I must admit that I did tweak this recipe a bit! But it was all yummy! I traded out the ground beef for Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and I traded out the butter beans for white beans. Because the baked beans I used already had brown sugar in them, I just sprinkled a little over the top when I was heating up the batch. I probably went a little short on the catsup and bbq sauce. But still, really, this is in the realm of this recipe! I would really suggest that Italian sausage is a GREAT way to tweak this recipe! In fact, this recipe just calls for tweaking however you like your beans! We won't ever buy Honeybaked's baked beans again because they are too sweet for us. This was really really good! Thanks, Aunt Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Every time we've served this dish, people have raved about it! Since it makes so much, if we're having it as a weeknight side dish, we'll freeze half the finished recipe and then have a side ready to go a different night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Delicious!! Only change I made was I added a few chopped jalapenos. It gave it a nice sweet with a little spice. I will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States