Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These are amazing....and I don't even like beans! I have had compliments on these everywhere I take this dish. FYI, I hardly ever add bacon and I only use baked beans with pork. This could be a "main dish" not just a side dish. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I serve this all the time. It is easy and the crowd loves it. It makes enough for a party and is easy to preparte the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
These beans are to die for !!! Made these for Labor day picnic and everybody loved them. I did not have butter beans on hand so I used red beans and followed the rest of the recipe as written. This will be my go to baked bean recipe from now on !!! Someone compared this to Calico beans, it is similar but much, much better ! Thank You for sharing Aunt Ro's great recipe!!! Made this for the second time in a week. This time I used 1.5 pounds ground beef, fried it as directed with a large diced onion and added a little minced garlic, I fried the bacon first and left a little bacon fat in pan when I fried ground beef, onion and garlic. I used a 28 ounce can of Bushes Original Baked Beans plus a 15oz can, and used 2 cans pinto and 2 cans red beans. Because the BBQ sauce I used was sweet (Wegmans brown sugar BBQ sauce) I cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. I fried up a pound of bacon and added half pound of crumbled bacon to beans and saved other half to sprinkle on top of beans in crock pot. Like I said already in this review these beans are too die for good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These were the best baked beans (crock pot) ever!!!! Will be making next week for a BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wonderful. Easy. Best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is a very good and easy recipe. I have made a variation of this recipe many times under the name of Calico Beans. It serves a lot more that 6 people. SJS9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Amazing! I did change it up a bit...I added a can of kidney beans and 2 tbs. chili powder; sweet and a tad spicy. I was also short on time so I baked in oven for 1 hour at 350° instead of the crock pot. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the best baked bean recipe, may family loves it with my potato salad! I served it at Easter and it was a big hit.I also used it at a family reunion. There had been a family recipe on my Dad's side for something like this but I could not find it. Everyone liked this one even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
What a great recipe! I totally didn't follow the recipe ingredients because I had a lot of various beans in the pantry and wanted to use them up. I also had an coil of smoked sausage that needed a place to call home. They all blended well together and the sauce as written was just fantastic. My only negative comment would be that the serving size is way off. I cut the recipe in half ans still had 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
After reading other reviews about quantities, I halved the recipe for hubby and me, as he is not too fond of beans. I had 2 Italian sausages cooked and left over, so chopped those fine and added in place of ground beef. Also fried the onions with 2 cloves garlic. I used pinto, mixed beans and canned pork and beans. I think you could incorporate any type of similar beans (white, navy, red kindney, pinto, garbanzo etc.) I cooked for 6 hours in slow cooker on low. At first I thought it was too sweet, but hubby ate them without any complaint so far, so that's a good sign. They are quite tasty! The portions are a little misleading as we eat them as a side dish, so half of this recipe actually will do us for 4 meals... I've already frozen enough for 2 of us for a meal, as per another reviewer's suggestion. Very simple to make and will try this with the ground beef too... It's such a simple recipe to be creative with.... thanks to Aunt Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States