Aunt Ro's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These were the best baked beans (crock pot) ever!!!! Will be making next week for a BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wonderful. Easy. Best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is a very good and easy recipe. I have made a variation of this recipe many times under the name of Calico Beans. It serves a lot more that 6 people. SJS9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Amazing! I did change it up a bit...I added a can of kidney beans and 2 tbs. chili powder; sweet and a tad spicy. I was also short on time so I baked in oven for 1 hour at 350° instead of the crock pot. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is the best baked bean recipe, may family loves it with my potato salad! I served it at Easter and it was a big hit.I also used it at a family reunion. There had been a family recipe on my Dad's side for something like this but I could not find it. Everyone liked this one even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
What a great recipe! I totally didn't follow the recipe ingredients because I had a lot of various beans in the pantry and wanted to use them up. I also had an coil of smoked sausage that needed a place to call home. They all blended well together and the sauce as written was just fantastic. My only negative comment would be that the serving size is way off. I cut the recipe in half ans still had 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
After reading other reviews about quantities, I halved the recipe for hubby and me, as he is not too fond of beans. I had 2 Italian sausages cooked and left over, so chopped those fine and added in place of ground beef. Also fried the onions with 2 cloves garlic. I used pinto, mixed beans and canned pork and beans. I think you could incorporate any type of similar beans (white, navy, red kindney, pinto, garbanzo etc.) I cooked for 6 hours in slow cooker on low. At first I thought it was too sweet, but hubby ate them without any complaint so far, so that's a good sign. They are quite tasty! The portions are a little misleading as we eat them as a side dish, so half of this recipe actually will do us for 4 meals... I've already frozen enough for 2 of us for a meal, as per another reviewer's suggestion. Very simple to make and will try this with the ground beef too... It's such a simple recipe to be creative with.... thanks to Aunt Ro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Basically, the traditional Calico Beans recipe. Tasty and always popular, and you can make it your own by adding chopped red and/or green peppers, using hot Italian sausage or breakfast sage sausage in place of the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I use whatever canned beans I have on hand, and instead of canned baked beans with bacon, I fry up a few slices of bacon, crumble it, and add it to the top of the beans before baking. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Really good and super easy. Added garlic and sausage. Used turkey instead of beef....pinto beans with jalapeno and kidney beans instead of butter. Used amount of brown sugar listed.....way too sweet!! Maybe 1/4 c next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States