Aunt Peg's Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
"THE BEST SOUP EVER" i used pinot grigio for the wine as that is the best wine i have ever used to cook, and will ever use, gives it a nice flavor to it, and since i hate having chunk of beans in my soup i pureed the garbanzo beans before adding them, added a nice texture to the soup, more hearty and thick. i served this to my guests and they made it 5 times in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartofatexan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a great soup! I'm always looking for vegetarian alternatives for when I have vegetarian guests. Even my fiancé, who normally asks for meat on the side with veggie dishes, loved this just by itself. The only change I had was to cook it on the stovetop over medium-low heat instead of baking. I would add the cheese just before serving, or even just sprinkle it on top of the soup instead of stiring it in, as it got a little rubbery from cooking for 10 mins. Also, I'll definately make more next time - the 6 serving recipe was just enough for 3 main dish servings (and that was with 15 ounce cans instead of 8 ounce), and we were wishing we could go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY217

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe. If I had it to make again-and I will-I would reduce the fat by using half and half, and low fat cheeses. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I modified this recipe to make it low-fat friendly. I pureed the chickpeas in my food processor and baked as directed. To finish, I served it with some light sour cream and shredded monterrey jack on the side. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm a long time allrecipes member and usually agree with consensus opinions on recipes, but my rating will be notch lower than the other reviewers. As my son described it, "A little bland, if you know what I mean." Maybe it's because I used white cooking wine instead of dry white wine, but the flavor seemed to be lacking something. Maybe more garlic, more basil, or additional spices. Too, the cheese turned a little rubbery in places. Maybe it melted too quickly. I will try this again some day with modifications. It looked nice, but the flavor punch was not as good as I expected--particularly for as long as it took to prepare. ADDENDUM: My wife and I both agreed that after sitting in the refrigerator for a day, this soup tasted better. So I'm adding another 1/2 point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is a delicious and different soup. It is especially appropriate for Lent, because of its absence of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Quite good! Doesn't make much (about four bowls). It got much thicker as leftovers, so I used it as pasta sauce, which was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
A big hit with my family. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
What a great recipe! This baked soup is awesome served with hot garlic toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I was very impressed with the way this soup turned out and will definately me making it again. I made the soup in a crockpot rather than baking as directed however and I substituted the dried basil for fresh dill which gave it a nice kick. **Addition to original review. I have made this soup many times since I originally found this recipe two years ago and I must say, it has been a real hit and has easily become one of my favorite winter meals. Best served with french bread, warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States