Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Just perfect - didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These were delicious! After reading the reviews, I increased the rhubarb to 2 cups, chopped into very small pieces. I also added a little bit of oatmeal to the sugar topping and I really liked the texture. I was missing one of my muffin pans, so I ended up making 4 muffins and putting the rest of the batter in a 8x8 pan and both versions were very good. I think that a 9 x 13 pan would work well for all of the batter - I just wanted to try it in muffin form as well. I really liked the texture of the muffin and I think that I will use this as my basic muffin recipe (once rhubarb is out of season). I LOVE the flavor of rhubarb, but I think that it will work well with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
To die for! I took other reviewers suggestions and made it 2 full cups of finely chopped rhubarb (used my hand chopper) and omitted the walnuts (which I usually adore). The rhubarb definitely took center stage. I'm going to have a hard time using my rhubarb for anything else! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I really like this recipe. I think for the topping I had too much butter because it was a bit too liquid to sprinkle, but I eyeballed this measurement so could be me. My son insisted on sprinkles on top of some of the muffins. In order to be able to send as a school snack (nut free) I replaced the walnuts with white chocolate chips which were very good. Kids loved these. I also boiled the rhubarb and also added a handful of frozen strawberries. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding some diced strawberries. They were great! This would be a great muffin base for any fruit/nut/etc. that you wanted to add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious & moist! Made them just as the recipe directed plus 1/2t cinnamon in the batter. It made 12 full size muffins which would be the only contradiction, but I did fill the tin to the top. Love the cinnamon sugar topping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Awesome! I followed some of the other suggestions, increased rhubarb to 2 cups, used homemade cinnamon applesauce in place of the oil, eliminated nuts (personal preference). Next time would probably increase the amount of sugar needed for the topping. The single recipe made 18 standard size muffins and the topping just barely made it at less than a teaspoon per muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I have made this recipe several times now, and love the rhubarb which I just dice and throw in, it gives it a lovely tang to the muffins. I didn't like the sugar topping much so I shall just sprinkle cinnamon over them next time. Why this fad for mixing food with hands, it is so messy, what is wrong with spoons and spatulas, they do the job just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T and these are amazing! will definitely make a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaca Moerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Photo by CLH2346
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
SO good! I was gifted some rhubarb recently and scoured the internet looking for what to do with it. These caught me right away, I've not made muffins before (very new baker), so I decided to give it a go. SO glad I did. Easy, but so much delightful flavor. I really like the walnuts, unlike a few others, I think they add some texture that they may suffer without, however if I make them again (which I plan to) I may use a different nut. Very, very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH2346

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturbridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States