Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I've been making these for years and they are delicious, however we have a few alterations that make them even better. First, we don't put walnuts in the batter, we grind up pecans fairly fine and add them to the topping. It gives them a wonderful crunch and the pecans toast as you cook the muffins giving them an even better flavor. Second, shake the rhubarb in the flour before adding it to the batter so it stays well distributed throughout the batter. Third you can make these muffins as a cake, it works perfectly in a 7x11 pan, but it rises very high so put another pan under it just in case it spills over. I'm usually too lazy to bake muffins so generally make it as a small cake. It also freezes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made these last week & used 2 cups of chopped rhubarb & added a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the batter as others suggested. These were very easy. I didn't use a mixer which can spoil the texture of these muffins. Just follow directions closely. I made my own topping of cinnamon flour sugar & butter cut together & sprinkled on top. Coffee gang gave them 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eickman5
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Loved these muffins! BUT...I did change the serving size to 36 and it made 18 filled to the top. I am not sure why the serving size ever works for me, but it doesn't... I also recommend greasing the top of your pan, the topping is quite sticky and will stick. Sooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eickman5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These muffins are the best! My husband says, "I give them a 6 out of 5"!! He just loves them. I always send some with him when he coffees with his old buddies at the mall and they rave about them! Thanks! Jessie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I was nervous when my batter was thick (like peanut butter), however these turned out great! I doubled the recipe and got 24 reg. muffins and 24 minis. Changes (recipe doubled) 1tsp extra baking powder, 1 c extra rhubarb, omitted crumb topping. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the vinegar/milk substitute. I stirred it all by hand. They were fluffy and delicious, even without extra butter! Another tasty & easy muffin recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Really good and easy. I did as several reviews suggested and used 2 c rhubarb and extra cinnamon, Didn't have buttermilk so used the vinegar in milk. turned out nice and made the house smell great. Spreading the wealth since my batch made 18 and there are only 3 of us in the house, hope those I share with agree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Delicious! Left out walnuts so the kids wouldn't complain. I would add more rhubarb next time so you get fruit in every bite! Will also try replacing half the oil with applesauce and half the white flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
These were delish, nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The texture was perfect, however, the flavor was bland. I too, found the nuts incongruous . Next time I will also add lemon zest and some cinnamon and/or nutmeg to the bland batter as well as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were easy to make, I only had frozen rhubarb on hand and it worked out perfectly. They are moist, the topping is just perfect for the tartness of the rhubarb...the flavours of the batter, rhubarb and topping realy balance and compliment each other. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States