Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nicholio
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmmm. Rhubarb! I love the tang of the buttermilk in the batter, and the streusel on top is a particularly yummy touch. I subbed in 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for some of the white. Next time, I might put the walnuts in the topping, instead of tucking them in the batter, because they'll get toasted that way and I'm crazy like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
A good muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wallace Clan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
These baked up beautifully and were well received. On a side note tho... I used frozen rubarb from our patch. As they had been in the freezer a bit, they were slightly "chewier" than I would prefer. I think, next time, I will bake up these muffins when the rubarb is fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I got rave reviews about these when I took them to a BBQ. Great way to use up rhubarb from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe was really delicious it created a muffin that was sweet but not too sweet and it had just a slight amount of tart from the rhubarb but not a lot and that sugar topping was super delicious it added a nice little bit of texture and contrast to the moist,soft muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The hardest part about this recipe is getting rhubarb in season. I made 18 muffins - couldn't quite stretch it to 24. Tasted great even with the healthier substitutions of half wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce (no oil), and Splendas for the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kennycooks
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Love this recipe! I omitted the walnuts and added a cup more of finely chopped rhubarb. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this recipe using two cups of frozen rhubarb as some other commenters had mentioned. I'm glad I did as it was the perfect amount of fruit for this muffin. Really nice balance of flavours in this muffin. If I have rhubarb on hand again I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I am a newbie to the taste of rhubarb and I would have to say this is a hand's down favorite of the different things I have tried with Rhubarb - I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These are wonderful muffins - the best rhubarb muffins I've ever made or tasted. I increased the rhubarb to 2c but will make it 3c next time to get more flavor of the rhubarb; I'll also add cinnamon in the batter, as well as the topping. The only reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5: it's a stretch to say you get 24 muffins out of this recipe - I did get 24 but there some very small muffins in the batch. I'd say 20 might be more realistic. I'll juggle the ingredients a bit to get 24 good-sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States