Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Baked this recipe as written and was rewarded with my favorite homemade muffins to date! Moist, fluffy, perfect balance of sweet and tart with that cinnamon kick. As the recipe implores, be sure not to overmix your batter to ensure this outcome. The neighbors were delighted, as were my rhubarb-doubtful husband and son. Now, to bake more deliciousness with the leftover buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gaudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Wonderful! Like others, I used 2 cups of rhubarb. This is my favorite muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
http://myjobearning.com/?invite=5134 ...free to join. Extra monthly income. No scams..check it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Made it healthier. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup Spelt flour, 1/2 cup unbleached flour instead of 2 1/2 cups of flour. Used 1/4 cup melted organic coconut oil and 1 small container applesauce instead of oil. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
My only complaint is the recipe needs to be doubled . They turned out excellent and I might share some with my friends , (MIGHT ) . Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa Greaves
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
As soon as I saw fresh rhubarb in the market, I knew I had to get baking. These turned out just great! Full disclosure: I used butter instead of oil (don't judge me) and I didn't add walnuts. Also, it turned out that my rhubarb measured at 2 cups instead of 1.5, so I just threw the whole thing in there. It was still wonderful. I especially love how easy it was to make a streusel topping with melted butter. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by nicholio
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Mmmm. Rhubarb! I love the tang of the buttermilk in the batter, and the streusel on top is a particularly yummy touch. I subbed in 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for some of the white. Next time, I might put the walnuts in the topping, instead of tucking them in the batter, because they'll get toasted that way and I'm crazy like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
A good muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wallace Clan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
These baked up beautifully and were well received. On a side note tho... I used frozen rubarb from our patch. As they had been in the freezer a bit, they were slightly "chewier" than I would prefer. I think, next time, I will bake up these muffins when the rubarb is fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I got rave reviews about these when I took them to a BBQ. Great way to use up rhubarb from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States