Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I was nervous when my batter was thick (like peanut butter), however these turned out great! I doubled the recipe and got 24 reg. muffins and 24 minis. Changes (recipe doubled) 1tsp extra baking powder, 1 c extra rhubarb, omitted crumb topping. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the vinegar/milk substitute. I stirred it all by hand. They were fluffy and delicious, even without extra butter! Another tasty & easy muffin recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Really good and easy. I did as several reviews suggested and used 2 c rhubarb and extra cinnamon, Didn't have buttermilk so used the vinegar in milk. turned out nice and made the house smell great. Spreading the wealth since my batch made 18 and there are only 3 of us in the house, hope those I share with agree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Delicious! Left out walnuts so the kids wouldn't complain. I would add more rhubarb next time so you get fruit in every bite! Will also try replacing half the oil with applesauce and half the white flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
These were delish, nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
The texture was perfect, however, the flavor was bland. I too, found the nuts incongruous . Next time I will also add lemon zest and some cinnamon and/or nutmeg to the bland batter as well as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were easy to make, I only had frozen rhubarb on hand and it worked out perfectly. They are moist, the topping is just perfect for the tartness of the rhubarb...the flavours of the batter, rhubarb and topping realy balance and compliment each other. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The batter tasted good but without using REAL buttermilk, the final product was runny inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I used orange instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Absolutley moist and delicious. I have also added some strawberries or raspberries if I had a few on hand to use up and it gave another dimension to these fablous muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Weslaco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
My son asked for me to make these again so he could take some to his pottery teacher. I threw in white chocolate chips this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States