Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was a huge hit at our girls weekend. Everyone loved them. Not too sweet or tart and the topping is just right. Very moist so I will try with app,e or blueberry the next time. These made me wish I had more rhubarb! I too used 2 cups of rhubarb and they were perfect! Thanks for this recipe, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
First time I've ever tried rhubarb, and this looked like a fairly simple recipe to start with. It was pretty easy to make, and the muffins are delicious!! My husband's first rhubarb experience as well, and I'm happy to say he likes them too!. Bought too much from the farmer's market, so debating whether to make more of these and freeze them, or try a different recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
These muffins do not last long! They have a simple flavor, but they are addicting all the same. The first time I made them omitted the nuts and added an extra 1/2 cup of rhubarb. I also didn't do the topping and used coconut oil for instead of vegetable. But I thought the rhubarb was a bit tart. So the second time I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the batter and then mixed 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon with the rhubarb before mixing it into the batter. That helped with the tartness, I think I would add more cinnamon next time and maybe some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
These are light and delicious, I also used sour milk in place of buttermilk and omitted the nuts (family choice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These are absolutely delicious! I made one batch as instructed, they were great. The next one I added 2 cups of rhubarb and put a small dollop of cream cheese in the centers.Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anijjar
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
My absolute favorite muffins. I leave out the nuts, fill the paper muffin cups to almost the top and use extra topping. They come out big, super moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
yummy. changed oil for unsweetened apple sauce. way healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I've been making these for years and they are delicious, however we have a few alterations that make them even better. First, we don't put walnuts in the batter, we grind up pecans fairly fine and add them to the topping. It gives them a wonderful crunch and the pecans toast as you cook the muffins giving them an even better flavor. Second, shake the rhubarb in the flour before adding it to the batter so it stays well distributed throughout the batter. Third you can make these muffins as a cake, it works perfectly in a 7x11 pan, but it rises very high so put another pan under it just in case it spills over. I'm usually too lazy to bake muffins so generally make it as a small cake. It also freezes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made these last week & used 2 cups of chopped rhubarb & added a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the batter as others suggested. These were very easy. I didn't use a mixer which can spoil the texture of these muffins. Just follow directions closely. I made my own topping of cinnamon flour sugar & butter cut together & sprinkled on top. Coffee gang gave them 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States