Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is especially delicious warm. Made it with 2 cups of rhubarb (saw that someone suggested this). Mine only made 16 - but they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is a great recipie, (I add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter as well). The muffin tastes great and the topping gives them a fancy, bakeryl-like feel. Pay attention to the amount of rhubarb, I've made it with 2 full cups and it lost its nice, 'cake-like' bouncy ness! A nice alternative to rhubarb pie :) thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Hirota
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Very nice! I made only a few small modifications to the recipe. First, I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1.5 tsp. of baking powder for nice, fluffy muffins. I also added a healthy shake of cinnamon to the dry ingredients - it just seemed like the right thing to do! They turned out great - just the right amount of sweetness for the tart rhubarb, especially with the topping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hirota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I eliminated the oil and buttermilk, and substituted Greek vanilla yogurt. They turned out great! My mother makes rhubarb sauce (just like apple sauce but with rhubarb)--next time, I'll use some of that with the yogurt to give the cake part of the muffin a little more rhubarb flavor. Yum! My husband ate 5 right out of the oven. Like other raters, I didn't use nuts in my recipe--they didn't need any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauri
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very good recipe. I followed recipe as written plus added 1/2 cup fresh blueberries. It made 20 nice sized muffins. I could have gotten 24 if I didn't quite fill papers to the top. My topping was more drizzly rather than crumbly (probably because I melted butter in microwave )but it didn't take away from the flavor. For a crumble topping I would just cut cold butter into sugar cinnamon mix. Will definately make again and experiment w/various fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Just perfect - didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These were delicious! After reading the reviews, I increased the rhubarb to 2 cups, chopped into very small pieces. I also added a little bit of oatmeal to the sugar topping and I really liked the texture. I was missing one of my muffin pans, so I ended up making 4 muffins and putting the rest of the batter in a 8x8 pan and both versions were very good. I think that a 9 x 13 pan would work well for all of the batter - I just wanted to try it in muffin form as well. I really liked the texture of the muffin and I think that I will use this as my basic muffin recipe (once rhubarb is out of season). I LOVE the flavor of rhubarb, but I think that it will work well with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
To die for! I took other reviewers suggestions and made it 2 full cups of finely chopped rhubarb (used my hand chopper) and omitted the walnuts (which I usually adore). The rhubarb definitely took center stage. I'm going to have a hard time using my rhubarb for anything else! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I really like this recipe. I think for the topping I had too much butter because it was a bit too liquid to sprinkle, but I eyeballed this measurement so could be me. My son insisted on sprinkles on top of some of the muffins. In order to be able to send as a school snack (nut free) I replaced the walnuts with white chocolate chips which were very good. Kids loved these. I also boiled the rhubarb and also added a handful of frozen strawberries. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding some diced strawberries. They were great! This would be a great muffin base for any fruit/nut/etc. that you wanted to add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States