Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Tasty! Another good rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Such a good use for rhubarb - not too sweet, just perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've been making muffins for years and these muffins are the best I've ever made. Family raved over them!! When I tried one I loved the texture and flavour. This is going in my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I love rhubarb and this is a great recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1/3 cup instead of the 1/2 cup measure. It was not a preference, I just read my measuring cups wrong. With this mistake, they are still tasty and moist. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
These are very good. I followed the advice to add more rhubarb and I think that was absolutely necessary. I ended up adding a total of 2 1/4 cups and next time think I'll use another half. I also added a bit of cinnamon to the batter which was a good choice. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil, a change I almost always make and a good choice given the oily feel of the muffin liners as I took these out of the pan. I used almonds for the nuts and also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I doubled the amount of topping using 1/3 cup white and 1/3 cup brown sugar. I worked in softened butter and also added some broken almond slices. That was necessary to get enough topping for the 24 standard sized muffins that I got out of this recipe. A good mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've never made anything with rhubarb, so I was pretty sure this was going to taste very tart. Nope, not at all! Nice and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made three small adjustments: left out the walnuts (I'm not sure that would go with this...), used only about 3/4 cups brown sugar, and had an extra half cup of rhubarb so I used it all. I also did the milk with vinegar trick instead of buttermilk. These are wonderful! Fluffy, moist, tasty, great crumbly, crunchy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
The sweet crunch on the top is perfect for the tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gudrun Biemann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
These are delicious! Unfortunately my 2 oldest boys did not like them (fault of the rhubarb, or perhaps pieces which were cut too large for their liking). I changed it up only a bit to suit our tastes and what I had on hand. I hadn't any white sugar on hand, so I subbed brown sugar for the topping. Nor did I have walnuts, so I just left those out. We also like to add a little rye flour to all our recipes, so 1/5 of the flour was rye and we only keep milk kefir around, so I used that instead of buttermilk. Lastly, I cut the sugar down to just 1 cup for the muffins. These were very moist. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States