Aunt Millie's Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I used half of the fresh broccoli, baked it in a deep casserole dish, omitted the salt entirely and used approximately all of the black pepper. I also used homemade seasoned croutons, uncrushed. It was delicious and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I used frozen broccoli. The result was very tasty but a little salty. They sometimes add salts to frozen or prepackages veggies, so this is probably the case. I also used crushed veggie crisps instead of the butter/crouton topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Awesome Casserole. I steamed the broccoli instead of boiling it and used Cheddar Jack cheese instead of American. I also added a half cup of cooked rice. Seasoning I eye-measured myself, some people prefer more salt some less, so I always just go by what feels right for me. I loved the seasoned croutons. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I make a slightly different variation of this recipe - I don't precook the broccoli, so it's nice and firm after its been baked, I add a layer of mushrooms and onions that have been fried on top of the broccoli, cover it with mushroom soup and then add cheese - I make two layers and then bake it until the cheese has melted and bubbly - has been a family favourite of ours for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I love that this uses fresh broccoli! Per other reviews, I didn't add the salt and thought it was perfect. Also, I used cheddar and parmesan because that's what I had on hand. I would imagine you could use any cheese and have this be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Definitely not low-fat, but it does get the kiddos to eat their veggies! Similar to others, I used "real" cheese instead of processed, and I successfully used a mish-mash of random spare vegetables from the fridge and freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was really good. I however, changed a few things I used one can of mushroom soup and one can of celery soup, I used cheddar instead of american cheese and I use Ritz Crackers, I barely tasted it at church it was gone faster then I could get in on the table good. I used salt and pepper but very little theres alot of salt in the cheese and crackers so it was really a hit and I wll be making it for Thanksgivin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this to take to our family Rosh Hashanah dinner--OMG! Everyone just loved this dish. I left out the salt and pepper because the soup and cheese had enough salt of their own and Hub's tum can't tolerate black pepper. Also, the croutons I used were very well seasoned, so for our family, the salt and pepper weren't used. And honestly, I don't think they were needed. I used mostly American cheese and added in whatever I had left in the coldcut drawer--there was some cheddar with horseradish, some swiss and some shredded cheese blend. This was just totally awesome and sooooo easy to make. I can't give ten stars but I would if I could. Bravo! (As an afterthought--I think I would like to try this again using reduced fat cheese and cut down on the butter too. I think it would also be good, perhaps just seven stars instead of ten, but still quite yum.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I was pretty disappointed in this recipe I must say. Way too much salt and pepper....it probably should only have 1/2 tsp of both. The casserole was also very thin in a 9X13 pan. It probably needed more soup. Amount of broccoli and bread crumbs seemed good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This casserole tasted warm and comfy, but the broccoli turned out too mushy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States