Aunt Mazo's Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
You can also buy the condensed milk already cooked. I was in Portugal recently and found it there and when I returned to the US I found it in the Spanish section of the grocery store... saves time and we can all use a little more time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Yummy! Use tart cherries instead, it cuts the sweetness. I liked but did not love the flavor of the milk, I was hoping that it tasted like homemade caramel. I will make it again. It's pretty labor intensive, always making sure the water is high enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Yum! It brings back really good memories. I'm cuban, and my Mom would make this dessert for us on Sunday's with the exception of the cherries. I've made it for my family, but they do not have a sweet tooth. Oh well, this one is reserved for me and my girlfriends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I had just taken a can out for tonight's dessert when I came across this exact recipe.... :) A local authentic Italian restaurant (has since been run out by Olive Garden, Macaroni Grill & the like - yuck) served this as "Caramello." We asked, nay, DEMANDED the recipe, as it was incredible. Surprise! It's just caramelized condensed milk w/whipped cream on top. :) I have made this on the stovetop for 15+ years and have never had a single explosion. I always make sure to have plenty of water (I use my pasta kettle) and keep it a low simmer. I start the water warm, with the can already in place. Voila! I have also placed the can in a shallow casserole dish partially filled with water and baked it overnight at 225 degrees. Not quick enough for me, however.... I use this when I need caramel for a recipe (cookies, ice cream topping, etc) and have had great success; not the exact flavor, but richer and smoother. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Yum! I make mine using a pressure cooker, filled with as much water as the cooker allows and bringing to full steam, then lowering to mild rocking for about 45 minutes. Cuts the cooking time way down and makes excellent dulce de leche. I have never had an exploding problem, but I suppose you must check to make sure there is water at all times and never ever leave it unattended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I changed the servings to 7 but it was still way to much for my family of 5. The dessert is wonderful...very rich and sweet. Cooking the cans isn't that hard, just takes time then I put in refrig over night. I used store brand condensed milk and whipping cream so it only ended up being around $7.00 and I had a large mixing bowl full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
the condensed milk site advises as follows: For an easy caramel topping or dip, simply heat Eagle Brand® using the following directions. For safety reasons, heating the unopened can (an old cooking method) is NOT recommended. Instead use one of the following methods. OVEN METHOD; Pour 1 can Eagle Brand® sweetened condensed milk into 9 inch pie plate. Cover with aluminum foil; place in larger shallow pan. Fill larger pan with hot water. Bake at 425º for 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. STOVETOP METHOD; Pour 1 can Eagle Brand® sweetened condensed milk into top of double boiler; place over boiling water. Over low heat, simmer 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth. MICROWAVE METHOD; Pour 1 can Eagle Brand® sweetened condensed milk into 2-quart glass measuring cup. Cook on 50% power (medium) 4 minutes, stirring briskly every 2 minutes until smooth. Cook on 30% power (medium-low) 20 to 26 minutes or until very thick and caramel-colored, stirring briskly every 4 minutes during the first 16 minutes and every 2 minutes the last 4 to 10 minutes. CAUTION: NEVER HEAT UNOPENED CAN. my mom used to make this and after it cooled in the can she sliced it thinly and put between two rings of canned pineapple and whipped cream on top...delicious! They seriously advise against heating the unopened cans these days because of safety concerns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
yummy,yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Only for those with a SERIOUS sweet tooth! I thought I was one until I tried this desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This is one of my favorite desserts. My Aunt, Caridad, used to make it while she was still alive and I just loved the rich, creamy caramelly taste. This is a dessert which is made in many Latin countries. The way I prefer to eat it is, after it has boiled in the can, let it cool (first cool it in cold water, then in the fridge), cut both ends of the can and let it plop onto a plate. It will be nice and firm. It's very, very rich, and a small portion will do. I'm Cuban and this is defenitely a Cuban favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States