Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
I loved it!! It was really easy and great to my tastebuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
YUMMY! A very nice, simple fluffy icing thatis sort of like "Dream Whip" without the yukky chemicals. Pay no heed to the bad reviews below, these people probably didn't use an ELECTRIC MIXER to make it, and so wound up with a soupy mess. But really, it is great. The recipe should mention that you need to use an electric mixer. I'm going to try it with a bit of lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
This is a great frosting. The taste is great and easy to use with my pastry bags for decorating. No more store bought icings for me. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I didn't actually taste it, but it came out very nicely. I "forgot" a tablespoon of flour, and added a bit more sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I love this frosting! I used it on top of the Banana Cake IX and it was delicious! The other people that had problems with it probably either got the butter too soft or didn't use a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This icing has such a rich vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derekdm901

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I'm surprised this frosting only has a three star rating. It might be because the original recipe has too much butter and made my frosting a little too soft. Another time when I added less butter the frosting came out just perfect. This icing was not only great on my vanilla cake but was good when I made cinnamon rolls. I like it because it has few ingredients and takes very little time to make. Come on, allrecipe cooks, try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My entire family loved this frosting. It was so very easy to prepare and was not as sweet as alot of recipes. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I'm not so sure she copied the directions correctly. This looks exactly like a cooked icing recipe I use. First, you cook the flour and milk (1 cup instead of a 1/2) till it thickens completely like pudding. Let it cool. Then mix your shortening, butter and sugar (mine uses 1 c of regular sugar) for 5-10 minutes. Add the flour mixture and vanilla and beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
this is a every good recipe and is the best on homemade strawberry cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States