Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I think Aunt Mary got her shoe polish recipe and frosting recipe confused. This had no flavor and was extremely greasy. If you need a shoe shine though... this would rock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I'm surprised this frosting only has a three star rating. It might be because the original recipe has too much butter and made my frosting a little too soft. Another time when I added less butter the frosting came out just perfect. This icing was not only great on my vanilla cake but was good when I made cinnamon rolls. I like it because it has few ingredients and takes very little time to make. Come on, allrecipe cooks, try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
If you want to clog an artery this is the recipe for you. After just tasting it i could feel the grease stick to my thoat and it doesn't taste much like frosting. STAY AWAY FROM THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I thought for sure other raters were just pessimists but this frosting is not tasty at all. It tastes too much like shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
There has to be some mistake ading flour to a frosting receipe. This was the most disgusting frosting I've ever eaten. It tasted greasy and had the wonderful aftertaste of raw flour. YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My entire family loved this frosting. It was so very easy to prepare and was not as sweet as alot of recipes. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I whipped the butter and shortening together, then added the confectioners sugar and vanilla. After I got it combined nicely, I added whole milk by tbsp until it was the consistancy I wanted. When I tried it, it was not good. At all. And I'm being nice. I had to add another cup and a half of confectioners sugar and about four tbsp. of vanilla to get it moderately acceptable. And still, I find it greasy and over sweet. I'm upset I wasted my time and ingredients on this. Partially my fault because I didn't read the reviews first. I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
might as well just butter the cupcakes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Charlee
Home Town: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I would never recommend this EVER. I had to add 2 more cups of conf. sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla extract just to make it taste decent and it was still clumpy and tasted like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe is great...if you like gaining 5 pounds with each serving! I could literally see the grease FLOODING the frosting. I honestly think starving children in Africa would turn this recipe down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States