Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
I followed the recipe exactly and I found that it makes "soup", not frosting! I was very disappointed in wasting my materials and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
This recipe was horrible, I had to add in the full box of powdered sugar just to make the frosting tolerable. Do not use this recipe, it will waste your time, money and materials!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This turned out really nice. It wasn't too sweet and had a consistency similar to whipped cream. It was very light and smooth. I used it on a chocolate cake with cherry pie filling spread between the layers, so it was kind of like a black forest cake. Everyone enjoyed it, so I would definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
I loved it!! It was really easy and great to my tastebuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
YUMMY! A very nice, simple fluffy icing thatis sort of like "Dream Whip" without the yukky chemicals. Pay no heed to the bad reviews below, these people probably didn't use an ELECTRIC MIXER to make it, and so wound up with a soupy mess. But really, it is great. The recipe should mention that you need to use an electric mixer. I'm going to try it with a bit of lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
I certainly know how to use an ELECTRIC MIXER and this recipe was very fluffy. However, it was also completely tasteless. If you're going for looks, it's a great recipe; if you're going for taste, try something else. Maybe the butter should be doubled and the shortening eliminated??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
This is a great frosting. The taste is great and easy to use with my pastry bags for decorating. No more store bought icings for me. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
This recipe NEVER became fluffy despite whipping it with my electric mixer for a very long time. It appears that the recipe either has too much butter/shortening and milk in relation to the confectioners' sugar. Unfortunately, the frosting never became usable for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This recipe indeed tasted bland....to improve the flavor I added an entire box of confectioners sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. The consistancy was beautiful and the taste was much improved. I would use this recipe again...only with the variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Well I should have believed some of these reviews.. It DID turn out flavourless even with extra powdered sugar and vanilla extract. The only thing good about it is that it whipped up nicely. Now to improve on the vanilla and sweetness flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States