Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Yuck! It taste more like butter and flour than a frosting. I would never use this frosting ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I thought this recipe was easy to make, but will not use again. It didnt hold together well. Not even after being in the fridge all day. And it was very greasy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I love this frosting! I used it on top of the Banana Cake IX and it was delicious! The other people that had problems with it probably either got the butter too soft or didn't use a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
Well I should have believed some of these reviews.. It DID turn out flavourless even with extra powdered sugar and vanilla extract. The only thing good about it is that it whipped up nicely. Now to improve on the vanilla and sweetness flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This recipe indeed tasted bland....to improve the flavor I added an entire box of confectioners sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. The consistancy was beautiful and the taste was much improved. I would use this recipe again...only with the variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
This recipe NEVER became fluffy despite whipping it with my electric mixer for a very long time. It appears that the recipe either has too much butter/shortening and milk in relation to the confectioners' sugar. Unfortunately, the frosting never became usable for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
This is a great frosting. The taste is great and easy to use with my pastry bags for decorating. No more store bought icings for me. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
I certainly know how to use an ELECTRIC MIXER and this recipe was very fluffy. However, it was also completely tasteless. If you're going for looks, it's a great recipe; if you're going for taste, try something else. Maybe the butter should be doubled and the shortening eliminated??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
YUMMY! A very nice, simple fluffy icing thatis sort of like "Dream Whip" without the yukky chemicals. Pay no heed to the bad reviews below, these people probably didn't use an ELECTRIC MIXER to make it, and so wound up with a soupy mess. But really, it is great. The recipe should mention that you need to use an electric mixer. I'm going to try it with a bit of lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
I loved it!! It was really easy and great to my tastebuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States