Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
when i made this i guess i really screwed it up it was lumpy and didn't look like frosting.but my mother liked it .well anyway what did i do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
If you want to clog an artery this is the recipe for you. After just tasting it i could feel the grease stick to my thoat and it doesn't taste much like frosting. STAY AWAY FROM THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Okay, we thought it looked good, that it was a good idea. Then the worst that could possible happened happened...We made it, then tried it!! ...man o man...this recipies should not be used by children from the ages of 99 and down...ok, that's all I have to say about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is NOT frosting! It's whipped butter! I added about an extra cup of sugar and tbs of vanilla and I still didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
There has to be some mistake ading flour to a frosting receipe. This was the most disgusting frosting I've ever eaten. It tasted greasy and had the wonderful aftertaste of raw flour. YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I didn't really like the texture. It was really greasy and sweet. My sister liked eating it, but it wasn't all too amazing otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This icing has such a rich vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derekdm901

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I thought for sure other raters were just pessimists but this frosting is not tasty at all. It tastes too much like shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I didn't actually taste it, but it came out very nicely. I "forgot" a tablespoon of flour, and added a bit more sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was an awesone recipe....I almost didnt want to put it on the cake...I did vary a little though...I added about and extra teaspoon of vanilla and used butter flavored shortening....Everyone loved it!!! Only problem is that you have to keep the cake refridgerated so it doesnt melt...the taste and consistancy was awesome though....I would recomend to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYS627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States