Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
It was okay, not very sweet but I understand why people are giving this bad reviews, its because this recipe needs to bad hand beaten and for a long time, atleast 8-10 mins. If you want it sweeter just add a little more powdered sugar. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Lynn
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I'm not so sure she copied the directions correctly. This looks exactly like a cooked icing recipe I use. First, you cook the flour and milk (1 cup instead of a 1/2) till it thickens completely like pudding. Let it cool. Then mix your shortening, butter and sugar (mine uses 1 c of regular sugar) for 5-10 minutes. Add the flour mixture and vanilla and beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
clumpy and disgusting...i tried to make it 3 times...omit the milk and flour and it turns out so so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My entire family loved this frosting. It was so very easy to prepare and was not as sweet as alot of recipes. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I added a bit more powdered sugar and about a teaspoon more vanilla and thought it tasted just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This frosting looks like cottage cheese! It looked too awful to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I think Aunt Mary got her shoe polish recipe and frosting recipe confused. This had no flavor and was extremely greasy. If you need a shoe shine though... this would rock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe is great...if you like gaining 5 pounds with each serving! I could literally see the grease FLOODING the frosting. I honestly think starving children in Africa would turn this recipe down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I did not like the look and flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I'm surprised this frosting only has a three star rating. It might be because the original recipe has too much butter and made my frosting a little too soft. Another time when I added less butter the frosting came out just perfect. This icing was not only great on my vanilla cake but was good when I made cinnamon rolls. I like it because it has few ingredients and takes very little time to make. Come on, allrecipe cooks, try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States