Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I actually thought this recipe was quite easy to make and tasted very good. I made it the first time and it turned out perfectly. The second time as well it turned out well. My friends and I enjoyed it and loved how it wasn't too sweet. I liked this recipe because it wasn't too sweet. If i eat sweet frosting I get a terrible headache, so I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This recipe is a bad variation of a very simple buttercream iciing. A better version of this would be to simply use 1 and a half sticks of butter and 2 cups of confectioners sugar. Sift the confectioners sugar into the butter while creaming it into a smooth consistency until all the sugar has been added. Then add 1 tbsp. fruit juice or milk, to even consistency. The more complicated you make simple buttercream icing, the worse it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was so awesome! It tasted so great on cupcakes I made with my friends. The reason all you pessimists didn't like it was because you made it WRONG! It tastes amazing if you make it RIGHT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Okay, I would not normally bother to rate a recipe unless it was really bad! This one tastes very greasy. I had to use 5 times the amount of powdered sugar listed just to get the frosting to a consistency that I could use. I would have just thrown the whole bowl away if I had enough powdered sugar on hand to start over. Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana7924

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
might as well just butter the cupcakes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Charlee
Home Town: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I see a lot of bad reviews that say lumpy. You need to use cold butter and mix mix mix. it takes a long time but when it is finally done it really is smooth. This works best on a really rich or sweeeeet cake bacause isn't very flavorful. My family liked it and even had it at a bake sale and the buyers liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This recipe was WAY greacy and lumpy. I had to triple the flour & powdered sugar to make it workable at all. (I basically just kept adding dry until it was right). It was a bit too sweet after that, but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. I would never recommend this EVER. I had to add 2 more cups of conf. sugar and 2 tsp of vanilla extract just to make it taste decent and it was still clumpy and tasted like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
this is a every good recipe and is the best on homemade strawberry cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This frosting is easy to make, but I would use 1 full cup of confectioners sugar as it isn't very sweet as is. Like the other reviewers mentioned, it was a little greasy! But! My husband does NOT like a sweet icing, so this was great for him. I added zest of a lemon to brighten it up, and maybe add some texture plus flavor. I will make it again, but tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States