Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe is good if you cut the butter in half and add more confectioners sugar (or just sugar) to compensate. I wonder if the butter amount is a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I don't usually give bad reviews but this seriously did not turn out right. I had to find another recipe with similar ingredients in different amounts and then add almond extract to make it edible because I didn't want to waste the ingredients. I am sure the amount of confectioner's sugar is listed incorrectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
After reading the reviews of this frosting recipe, I am guessing that instead of 2/3 cup confectioners' sugar... it should read 2 to 3 cups of confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Simmer the flour and milk in a saucepan until thick. When cool, beat this thickened mixture with the remaining ingredients for 12 minutes with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Excellent cooked frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Use canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I whipped the butter and shortening together, then added the confectioners sugar and vanilla. After I got it combined nicely, I added whole milk by tbsp until it was the consistancy I wanted. When I tried it, it was not good. At all. And I'm being nice. I had to add another cup and a half of confectioners sugar and about four tbsp. of vanilla to get it moderately acceptable. And still, I find it greasy and over sweet. I'm upset I wasted my time and ingredients on this. Partially my fault because I didn't read the reviews first. I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I would have given this icing 5 stars if it had a bit better flavoring, even after I added additional vanilla & almond extract. Since it contains flour, that tends to overpower everything else. I also had to double the recipe to 20 servings to frost a full 2-layer cake. Next time I will try to add better flavoring... But I definitely enjoy it, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I add 3 more cups of the confentioneries sugar and it was reall fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frenchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierceland, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I enjoy this recipe. Those that gave it fewer stars must be wanting something sweeter. I found this to be more like the fluffly light icing you get on a Wal-Mart cake. Although I do think it requires more sugar than the recipe states. I don't use shortening either instead all butter and that could be the reason for needing extra sugar. OH and probably extra vanilla wouldn't hurt either ;) It takes a while to take form, it's not instant so just keep mixing! It's fluffy, light and yummy ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States