Aunt Mary's Vanilla Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
i made this frosting and it turned out as inedible greasy poo. so i used it as foot lubricant and it worked great! this 'frosting' is great for foot massages or for pranks. however i would not recommend it for eating if you do theirs a good chance you will get server food poisoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Very soft I pored it on my cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I can see why no one is raving about this, it tastes too much like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe had no flavor and was very watery i could not put it in a piping bag because when i cut the tip it just came out like water all it taste like is butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I just made the frosting and I initially followed the exact instructions. Of course it came out like soup so I made a few changes/additions. Instead of using just 2/3 cup of confectioners sugar I quadrupled the amount and used 2 2/3 cups. I also used 10 tablespoons of flour rather then 5 to cut down on the sweetness and also increase the thickness. Also, I didn't have shortening, so I used two 1/2 cup sticks of butter being shortening and butter are interchangable and one can be substituted for the other. After I did that, it came out fine. If you wanted to put more confectioners sugar in to make it even thicker, you can. Also, I beat it profusely to get out all the lumps. Of course that may just have been me because the two sticks of butter I used were still a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I should have read the reviews before making it. Then again with shortening as an ingredient, I should have known better. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
my friend and i wanted to make a cake for her dad for fathers day.. we needed a quick frosting, so i found this one, it seemed easy enough for a 13 and a 10 year old to make. after it was finished and we tasted it, we knew the recipe was a failure! this is an awful frosting! we had no sugar to make a new one, so we had to add cinnamon, nut meg, blueberries, strawberry jam, and almost fruity pebbles to fix this mess. sounds gross but it turned out alright..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Would not thicken up and had no taste had to add cream cheese to make it better and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
My son made this, and we liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States