Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
it is a staple in our house. We add black pepper and Italian seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Thyme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I cut the recipe in half and followed the directions exactly except I peeled the eggplant and used seasoned crumbs as others had suggested. I steamed the eggplant cubes for 20 minutes. Not soft. Another 5 minutes, still not soft. So I took the cover off and sautéed the eggplant over medium heat until it softened (more than 35 minutes total cooking time). I then let the eggplant cool. When I mixed the ingredients, I could not get it to hold together so I ended up mashing the eggplant as others had suggested trying to get a better consistency. Continued on with the recipe as stated. I found them dry and overly bready. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My stepdaughter made this last night, it turned out very well. My husband had a bite or two and said it turned out really well! I'm sure she'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made these because my 10 year old is a vegetarian. I had tried these at a restaurant and like them. He loved them! My 15 year old son and I also liked them and I will make them again even though they took a while to make. I used two medium eggplants, added a bit of balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce while cooking, and used a cup of Italian breadcrumbs and Egg Beaters instead of actual eggs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved this recipe - I added mushrooms and used Cilantro instead of Parsley and added a little bit of Onion Powder. I made paddies instead of meatballs. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msbuff
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These turned out amazing! I modified the spices in this recipe to suit my own taste. I also used panko bread crumbs instead. They browned real nice in the oven. This was also a nice change up to making eggplant. Can't wait to share this recipe with friends and family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbuff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My hubby LOVES eggplant and I would turn my nose up to it..didn't like the texture..but eggplant made this way is AWESOME!! I only used 1 beaten egg and seasoned up with 2 teaspoons onion powder and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning. I also substituted dried parsley for fresh, using 1/8 cup...These are addicting!! Freeze wonderfully..Now if I am hungry I pop a few in the microwave for a minute, top with sauce and eat on a bun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Yoxall Donhauser

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these today just as the recipe says and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Derr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Followed directions to a tee. Tasted bland. Fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Wow.Who knew! Vegetarian dish can be tasty! Most wonderful as balls or stuffing for mini peppers. Mom in law, even asked for the recipe! I'm experimenting on a vegan version of if... Watch for Vegan Eggplant Ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leannán

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States