Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This cake is delicious!!! I usually don't substitute anything when following a recipe but I did not have sour milk and I did not have vinegar to make the sour milk, so instead I used sour cream (1/2C). The batter is very runny but the cake turned out supper moist. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Aunt Mary has come up with an AMAZING chocolate cake! Very moist! Turned out fantastic and it was SO easy. I was a bit worried, as the batter was very runny, but it baked up nice and fluffy. I did add about 8 more minutes to the baking time just to make sure it was done inside. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Yum! This cake turned out very moist. The texture and flavor on this was almost identical to a Hostess chocolate cupcake. I'm hooked, this is a wonderful cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
i loved this cake. it was super-easy and came out so moist and yummy. why do people even use box mixes?! i used a cream cheese frosting which didn't go that well. next time i will try a whipped cream frosting! i had no problem souring the milk. i just added a bit of vinegar to the milk and waited about 20 min.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
It is a good recipe. The texture was nice and fluffy. The only thing I did differently was put less sugar and used semi-sweet chocolate instead of the unsweetened. I will be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
So rich and delicious! I made the 'best buttercream' to go with it, though now I wish I'd used a dark chocolate fudge type frosting, as this cake is sweet enough without the uber-sweet buttercream. Even better the next day! (if it lasts!) Edit: If you have a stand-by Texas sheet cake recipe, try using the pour-over FROSTING on top of this cake. If I wasn't already married, I'm pretty sure I could use it to convince someone to marry and/or impregnate me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillithmaximus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This chocolate cake is the first chocolate cake I have ever made from scratch. I will NEVER buy boxed again! I used 6 tbs of coco powder in the dry mix instead of baking squares because I didn't have any, so I just added 2 extra tablespoons of butter to the milk and water mix and it turned out wonderful. Also I've never made sour milk before so I took another reviewers advice and put 1 1/2 tsps. of vinegar in the milk but it still was not sour in 5 minutes. I put it in the microwave for 20 seconds and it was seperated and was peeerfect sour milk. Thank you for this recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Perfect! One very important change though: the time is too long. Cooked for the time stated it makes a good cake. But it really needs less time and it's AMAZING. I make two 9 inch rounds at 25 minutes and that may even be a few minutes too long. I make it as cupcakes at about 16 minutes. Nice, moist crumb, very delicate and slightly denser than boxed, with a slight crunch. This is better than boxed, of course, since there are no trans fats or corn syrup! To make the sour milk just put 1 1/2 tsp vinegar in the milk and wait five minutes for it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I thought this was OK but didn't think there was anything special or exciting about it. I felt it was more of a snack cake, thought it was plenty sweet enough on its own and didn't frost it -- that would've just been too much. It would be very nice if ingredients could be listed in the correct order - much easier to make sure everything's gone in that's supposed to -- and to keep me from panicking when it lists adding eggs and I don't see them... oh wait, they're up at the TOP of that list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was a good recipe. My family enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States