Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Awesome and easy!!! Great taste and color with so little effort! My fiancé who isn't even a rhubarb fan thoroughly enjoyed it. I used a little less sugar than the recipe asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe many times. I freeze my rhubarb so I can make this year-round. I'm not very picky about measuring my rhubarb as this recipe adapts to varying amounts. I use Splenda in place of the sugar, and sugar-free raspberry jello in place of the strawberry jello. I also use white cake if I'm out of yellow cake. I serve it with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream, whichever I have on hand. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Added 1 1/2 cup frozen strawberries and used wild strawberry jell-o. Very tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delishuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was really good, considering I had no idea what a dump cake is or how much rhubarb equals a pound! I used a lemon cake mix instead of a yellow cake mix and it was quite yummy, and very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
this was fairly easy to make, and very tasty. I would like to have tasted the rhubarb more though. I cut it quite small, and I think I would cut it larger next time I make it. I served it with vanilla ice cream and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKERSKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I had to change this up a little and make a more traditional dump cake, because I didn't have the jello. I used lite cherry pie filling (2 cans) and a can of crushed pineapple and mixed it with fresh rhubarb. Lined a 12" x 9" pan with the mixture, dumped a yellow cake mix on top, added the butter to this and baked at 425 for about 30 minutes! Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Think more of a crisp than an actual cake when you make this recipe. It is delicious and sooo simple to make. Great for the kids to help with! The top is crunchy and delicious, with sweet and tangy combo of tastes. Mine disappeared within hours. Thanks Aunt Kaye!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Yummy yum yum. Fabulously delicious, so easy, too. (I used sugar free jello & it was just wonderful.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Not a keeper--Had a cake mix flavor and poor texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I was ready to give this 1 or 2 stars as at the 50 minute mark in the oven there were still large pockets of dry cake mix on the surface of the baking pan. Following the advice of a reviewer, I made a few slashes and stuck it back in the oven. Ten minutes later, it still looked raw. I then took a spoon and mixed it together and back it went into the over for another 15 min. (I'm usually a from-scratch baker and had never made a "dump cake" so I didn't know what texture to expect.) (I used a lb of fresh rhubarb, finely diced, a large handful of frozen wild blueberries, and a box of strawberry cake mix, and substituted 3 packets of Splenda for the sugar and Soy Garden for the margarine.) It was delicious! Sweet, tart and tangy--liked the taste but did not care for the presentation. But we had seconds. Taste trumps I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States