Aunt Kate's Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I can't wait to make this cake again! I wasn't able to frost it b/c it was too moist & fell apart. That was my fault, though. I only had one egg so substituted strawberry applesauce for the other egg. I also think I put in too many strawberries! Honestly though, the taste was still fanstastic & can't wait to try it w/frosting. Thanks for this recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was delicious! However, I would double it and make two round cake pans, this didn't indicate what type of cake pan to use, it only makes one round fyi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mountain Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was really good!! My 3-year old ate every bite. I found my cake took 35 minutes to cook through (I used a 9" round cake pan). Had to add the photo, it's a real showstopper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I made this for my dad's birthday. He is always crazy about strawberry cake, and I wanted to find the perfect recipe. This is it. BUT, it does need some modifications. Here is what I changed: 1) I used 1 1/2 cup sugar instead of just 1 cup. 2) Since I modified the sugar amount, I had to use a little extra shortening. (about 1/4 cup extra). 3) I ran my strawberries through the food processor. That really did the trick. You can save some of your strawberries to slice and place on the top of the frosted cake. 4) I used about 3/4 teaspoon baking soda instead of a half teaspoon. 5) There was too much flour. I used about 1 1/2 cup altogether. 6) This fit nicely in a 9x13 pan. 7) This cake is VERY heavy and moist, but that's how we like it. 8) FOR THE FROSTING: I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and replaced the butter with shortening. With these modifications (yes, there is a lot of them) this cake was a hit, and just what I was looking for. Don't succumb to using a cake mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This cake was a hit with my family! Just like the other reviewers have noted...it is not a light fluffy cake. So don't freak out if it doesn't rise alot. I used my 9 inch round springform cake pan and the cake was about 1 inch high. so if you want to layer this cake, just make 2 of them. This is a dense, moist, yummy old-fashioned piece of heaven topped with the most awesome tasting frosting! I will for sure keep this recipe and make it again! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joderita
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This cake was SUPER moist and delicious. I wanted a strawberry cake that used real strawberries and not a Jello mix, and this recipe fits the bill and is really tasty. I agree with the writer of this recipe: the balance of cake and frosting is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I've made this cake many times. I love this recipe - it's easy, moist and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Thank you for the delicious recipe! I was going to add baking powder as other reviewers suggested, then found that I didn't have any left. It came out perfect as is, though. I did let the strawberries and baking soda sit for a couple of minutes to allow the reaction to start... maybe the other reviewers who had a heavy cake forgot this step?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I had fun playing with this, seeing if I could improve upon some issues of concern. First, I thought it unusual that baking soda was in the ingredients list, but not baking powder, especially since there wasn’t anything particularly acidic in the ingredients like lemon juice or buttermilk that would necessitate that. I also noticed the flour to sugar ratio was off, with not enough sugar. The submitter herself states the cake is not very sweet. And, while there aren’t many reviews of Aunt Kate’s cake, even some mentioned it was heavy and dense. Since the submitter also mentioned the cake was from the early 1900’s, I thought maybe baking powder wasn’t on the market yet. Nope, it was introduced in the mid 1800s. Still, I thought some baking powder was needed to give the cake some lift, making it lighter and fluffier. Knowing baking soda is four times as powerful as baking powder, I used 1/4 tsp. baking soda, 1 tsp. of baking powder and just 1/4 tsp. salt. One cup of strawberries seemed a lot to me for this little cake, which I thought might be “dragging” the cake down – I reduced it from 1 c. to 3/4 c. and added 1/2 tsp. of natural strawberry extract to compensate. Finally, I wanted the cake a little sweeter so I added 2 T. more sugar. I baked this as cupcakes and the changes did prove to result in a light and fluffy, nicely sweet cake. This is just slightly strawberry flavored, but once covered with the frosting (I added 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract) it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I didn't add anything to the recipe, because all the complaints were that it was too dense and that didn't bother me. It is very bread-like, but the flavor was quite good. Not super strong flavors, which to me is a positive since you can add frosting without making it too sweet. The one thing about the cake itself is that it has a bit of a weird color. You might be able to add food coloring to help, but I haven't tried so no idea. The frosting was ok, but not great. As a filling, I used the extra mashed strawberries I had and cooked them with some cornstarch. I felt like this gave a more strawberry flavor to the overall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States