Aunt Kate's Green Beans in Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I think the dish tasted rather bland. We ate it, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was really salty. I love green beans, but I really didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great way to use green beans straight out of the garden! I made a few changes- instead of diced tomatoes I used a pint of crushed tomatoes and 5 fresh minced basil leaves. I added 1/4 cup chicken broth, 1/2 tsp cinnamon (my husband loves cinnamon in anything with a lot of tomatoes), and about a tablespoon of fresh-squeezed orange juice when I added the green beans. Everyone (picky children included) loved it! Thanks for a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This rating is actually from my hubby, he raves about it every time I make it (I'm just not a fan of tomato sauce). I use frozen beans b/c fresh ones are hard to find here and microwave them until just defrosted before adding them in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Very good stuff. Zesty, Tasty and Easy The only thing that I might do differently would be to steam the green beans until they are about half way done as it takes a long time to get the green beans to a softer consistency. Very good stuff!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was fantastic! My first time ever eating green beans "in" something! I'm not much into leftovers and I'm not too creative with food, but I had a lot of this left over. I turned it into soup the next day! I heated it up an hour or so before dinner. I added a can of chicken broth and some pre-cut chicken strips, s & p, and my husband (who is a chef) thought it was great. Reminded him of minestrone with out all the veggies. I highly recommend this to all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I liked it quite a bit and I had forgotten garlic. My husband found it too tomatoey though. Pretty Good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I wasn't impressed by this nor were the men in the house. Bland. I tried onions and zucchini in place of beans and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Nice change to same-old green beans, very tasty. My three year old said he didn't like them, but then gobbled them up when we weren't looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This recipe was different. But, I went ahead and tried it because I wanted to do something different with green beans than usual. It was ok. The sauce was too thick for me, but I think i will try it again and use a bit more water as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States