Aunt Kate's Green Beans in Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great way to use green beans straight out of the garden! I made a few changes- instead of diced tomatoes I used a pint of crushed tomatoes and 5 fresh minced basil leaves. I added 1/4 cup chicken broth, 1/2 tsp cinnamon (my husband loves cinnamon in anything with a lot of tomatoes), and about a tablespoon of fresh-squeezed orange juice when I added the green beans. Everyone (picky children included) loved it! Thanks for a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
We thought this was pretty darn good. I used canned crushed tomatoes with roasted garlic and took it up a level by adding cabbage and cannellini beans. If I hadn't already had a meatloaf in the oven, I would have served this over pasta. Thanks BarbiAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Fast and easy, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Very good! I did throw the green beans in a few minutes (not 45 minutes later) after I added the tomatoes to the garlic/oil. They were delicious. I cooked the whole thing for about 45 minutes. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We love this recipe! It has gone over very well with company too. I also tried it with zucchin and it was equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Yea Aunt Kate! We loved your green beans in tomatoes! I (like other reviewers) used canned green beans. I only used one can because I wasn't sure if my kids would eat it and I didn't want to waste perfectly good green beans. When they saw it in the pan they asked "whats the red stuff?". I told them it was like green beans in spaghetti sauce...they loved it! My 3 year old ate it and ate it and ate it. Thank you for an easy and delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I don't think this one will be a fan with little kida, but as groovigryl said, her kid liked it, so I still don't know. I guess some kids like green beans, but not many...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Gal 12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe was very good. My roomate said her mother makes this all the time and mine was even better! I added 1 tbsp of parsley flakes and a bit more basil. All I had was a 28 oz can of tomatoes. I added 1/2 cup water and let it cook down until it was less than half. Next time I will use a regular 14 oz can, because it did turn out very tomatoey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Very tasty ... the tomato sauce livens up the green beans, flavor-wise, and produces a really nice texture overall. My 13-y.o. asked for seconds ... that's the real test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niroszyckame
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really enjoyed these, instead of using canned tomatoes, I used fresh diced roma tomatoes and then tomato paste and water in place of the tomato sauce. I also threw in some cauliflower, very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States