Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
i DOUBLED THE AMOUNT OF CHOCOLATE AND STILL WASNT CHOCOLATY . IT TURNED OUT YELLOW. THE WORST BIT WAS THAT IT WAS BURNT AT THE OUTSIDE BUT TOTALY RAW ON THE INSIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was the first time I ever made any cake. It came out ok. My suggestion is to use semi-sweet choclate instead of unsweet.and It needs more time to cook, like 10 min more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This cake was very, very good! The texture and flavor was great. I only made a small portion to try it out, since I thought the mayonnaise was a bit unusual, and then it never saw the next day, my family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This cake was great! It was easy to make, tasted good even in the batter (Though I was preparing for it not to based on a previous review). My family finished it in two days. They were a bit surprised when I told them about the mayonnaise, but hey! they still ate it! And that shows something. It's great. Moist, not too sweet or bland. It doesn't rise that much, so don't expect it to. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindySchaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Love it! Several times during the prep I was sure I'd ruined it...it was alarmingly liquid compared to other cakes I've made, but it rose beautifully and the texture and taste were perfect. I didn't have any white vinegar so I used red wine vinegar and was sure that would ruin it, but I couldn't tell anything was wrong. Very moist and very good. I topped it with coconut flavoured icing and then a layer of shredded coconut and it had a very nice flavour overall. Very different cake for me, but everyone seemed to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
WOW! I did have concern when the batter turned out so runny, but was more than surprised when this moist cake came out so perfectly. You can tell Aunt Joyce that this is a wonderful cake! Top with dark chocolate frosting, and you will be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I made this cake for my sister-in-law's birthday. Everyone moaned over how good it was. It made a really nice cake, very moist and scrumptious. Best chocolate cake I think any of us have had. I frosted it with Buttercream Frosting submitted by Diana Wilson. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I have been looking for a true Southern red velvet cake recipie since I lost mine in a move 4 years ago. The only thing missing from this recipie is the red food coloing. Rich, moist, and PERFECT! Thank you for sharing this great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I just made 2 of these cakes and I was not happy with the taste, it was very bland. I thought that maybe I read the recipe wrong but I found that I didn't. This cake would be great if you want to serve it with a drizzle of chocolate sauce on top or maybe add a bunch of chocolate chips in it. I served it at a bbq yesterday and I got the same feedback. It's just not chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My dad is a huge fan of mayo cake, so I made this for his birthday. It was super easy and came out very delicious. I made it in a bundt pan, so I had to cook it about 50 minutes. Every time my mom tried to make mayo cake it breaks apart. This one came out of the pan very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States