Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have been looking for chocolate cake recipe for a 13 x 9 inch pan and this is deliciously moist with a great chocolate taste. I did use the cocoa powder and butter alternative for the chocolate squares. This cake rose well and did not sink after coming out of the oven like other chocolate cake recipes I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I had never tried a cake recipe with mayonaise but this may have been the best cake I've made! I used rich dark chocolate and it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Awesome! Moist! Chocolatey! Made it according to the recipe. Don't worry that the batter is liquidy. It turns out great. Rave reviews at work. I combined it with Seven Minute Frosting I by Karen Davenport and people couldn't keep their hands off it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I have tried four or five different chocolate cake recipies in the last two years and this is probably the best. It is full of chocolate flavor, and is it ever moist! In a 9x13 pan, it rocks...and is even better the next day...if it lasts that long...oh, and you've got to use Tracy Larsen's "Creamy Chocolate Icing" with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was very optimistic about making this cake given so many previous 5 star ratings, but was disappointed with the final product. The cake texture and moisture was great, it just had no flavor. I used high quality choc squares, but still no luck. The only saving grace for this cake was the peanut butter frosting I put on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Definitely a keeper!!! I just made this recipe and I fear I may have 1/2 the cake eaten by days end. :) I never have bakers chocolate on hand, so I used 9 tablespoons of cocoa powder and 3 tablespoons (grape seed but any oil will work) oil instead (the recipe on the back of hershey's cocoa) This is the perfect recipe, especially when you don't have any eggs in the fridge!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
i DOUBLED THE AMOUNT OF CHOCOLATE AND STILL WASNT CHOCOLATY . IT TURNED OUT YELLOW. THE WORST BIT WAS THAT IT WAS BURNT AT THE OUTSIDE BUT TOTALY RAW ON THE INSIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was the first time I ever made any cake. It came out ok. My suggestion is to use semi-sweet choclate instead of unsweet.and It needs more time to cook, like 10 min more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This cake was very, very good! The texture and flavor was great. I only made a small portion to try it out, since I thought the mayonnaise was a bit unusual, and then it never saw the next day, my family ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This cake was great! It was easy to make, tasted good even in the batter (Though I was preparing for it not to based on a previous review). My family finished it in two days. They were a bit surprised when I told them about the mayonnaise, but hey! they still ate it! And that shows something. It's great. Moist, not too sweet or bland. It doesn't rise that much, so don't expect it to. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindySchaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States