Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Sooooo good!!! If you want a chocolate cake that is moist and delicous....make this! I was a little scared with the whole mayonasie thing but it works! I made for a party and everyone loved it. I had to take the rest of the cake to my mom's house so I wouldn't eat the whole thing! MAKE IT! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This is a very good cake. I used the cocoa conversion (3T.cocoa+1T.oil=1 sq.baking chocolate) and the cake turned out very well, moist and tasty. I will surely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Well, I had to make this cake when I saw the ingredients, it was just so unusual! It looked fantastic, tasted chocolatey (I used the cocoa powder and oil) but the texture was slightly rubbery. However it didn't detract much from the cake, nearly all my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
LOVE IT! I only had 2/3 cup of mayo, so I subbed 1/3 cup of plain yogurt. It is moist, chocolatey, goodness! This is definitely taking the place of my boxed cakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is the first time in a long time I've made cake from scratch... and it turned out really well! I'm very pleased. I actually made cupcakes, it yielded 18 and they were done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Easy to prepare & didn't take long to make. However the cake DOES NOT taste like chocolate. My sister asked what flavor it was although it clearly looked chocolate. It wasn't sweet and I don't know how other people could rate this as "the best". To say it's meteocre is even a compliment. I'd rather make something from the box like Betty Crocker brand or something, at least it'll taste like what it says it is. BOO two thumbs down. Even my cream cheese frosting couldn't help this cake. *I made it EXACTLY as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday and he couldn't speek, he could only moan with his mouth full! I followed the recipe but changed the chocolate a bit. I added a tbsp. of hershy's unsweetened cocoa, used only two squares of unsweetened, and then added about 3/4 cup of semi sweet chips, and 1/8 cup of bittersweet. I topped it with the recipe on the back of the cocoa for perfectly chocolate chocolate frosting, and it was absolutely amazing and moist! The batter is runny and it took a while longer to bake but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this for my husband birthday and we loved it!! We love moist, rich cakes and this was perfect. I used the Chocolate-Genache Icing recipe from this site and it was just the right touch. Not too sweet. I also made it in two round cake pans and put cherries into some of the icing to make a "filling" between the layers. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashathechef
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I always make this recipe and this time I halved it. Turned out perfect. Just needed more time to bake in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Comerio P.R.
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
PERFECT. I WILL PUT A LITTLE BIT MORE SUGAR, LIKE 1/2 A CUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comerio P.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Spey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States