Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Do not let the mayonnaise scare you away!! My mom made mayonnaise cakes for years and one day I couldnt find the recipe but I found this one. This is the one I make all the time now! I NEVER tell people what it is until they try it and when I do tell them, they are amazed that it is made with mayo. Something about the mayo that makes a dense, moist yummy cake! I followed the recipe exact except I had to cook mine a little bit longer and it came out perfect. I brought it into work and got rave reviews over it. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
WOW... this was incredible!!! I really had my doubts as I added water, no eggs and my batter came out so loose. But this cake was by far the best chocolate cake. I actually do not care for cake, but I found myself wanting more. I paired this up with a chocolate mousse and chocolate ganache, and finished it off with some chocolate shavings, delishhhh... My grandfather who's been a chef for years couldnt get over this cake.. def a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cos Cob, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
well i wanted to try something different for my bfs birthday, i tried it twice. the first time it just had a funny taste not bad but strange. so i tried again with more chocolate and sugar, still wasent pleased, even had a weird texture. dont know what i did wrong =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess<3
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Mind you that I was on a diet for three months before I tried this recipe, so that might have influenced my star rating. I thought this cake was fantastic! So much so, that I saved a little batter for myself after I put the rest into the cake pans. Very moist and rich. It is dense but that is a plus. A side note however, when making cupcakes with this recipe would want to lessen the baking time to keep the dense moisture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is the BEST chocolate cake I've ever made! Very moist. I followed the recipe to the letter with one exception- I had no baking chocolate so I substituted 9 Tbsp. of cocoa mixed with 3 Tbsp. canola oil. I also could not taste the mayonnaise! I'll make this one again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This cake was the most moist cake I have ever made. I made it in two 8 in pans and put a candy bar icing in the middle and chocolate glaze over the top... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I didn't have unsweetened chocolate to melt, so I used the 3-1 ratio with cocoa powder and butter. Everything else I kept the same. I had to add another 1/2 c. of flour and another 1/4 c. of cocoa powder because the batter was SO wet. This recipe reminds me a lot of the chocolate cake recipe on the Best Foods mayo jar. This did turn out really moist and chocolate-y, even more so with the Mocha Frosting I used from this site to frost it with. Not too hard to make and took just a little more time as it would have making a boxed cake but with a less processed flavor. I doubt I'd make it again, only because it's so similar to the Best Foods mayo cake. I'd like to try something different, a little more unusual. EDITED TO ADD: So, with the extra addition of more cocoa powder, the chocolate flavor of this cake was phenom. With the mocha icing on top, this cake was my best PMS chocolate craving killer EVER. I ate two pieces and was in chocolate/coffee heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Awesome I will never make a cake any other way. It only lasted two days in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
The cake was very moist, but flavor was barely okay. The texture was awesome, denser than most cakes, just how I love it. However it was not very chocolatey, so would probably not make again following this recipe. It was thin, a little cracked on top. If i made it again I would probably just add 3 ounces of sweetened chocolate and add it while melting the unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
the mayonase was horrible! ruined the chocolate cake (and i like every chocolate cake i've tasted)3*** because my fionce liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States