Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Word of advice: try to make the recipe once first before planning on bringing it to an important event so you know what to expect (and decide if this is really the recipe you want to go with...). I was in charge of dessert for my friend's Easter dinner, and this cake didn't quite turn out like I expected. It tasted GOOD. But it wasn't cakey (very moist, like a cross between custard and cake?!). I found out that the texture had improved after a day of sitting on the counter (yes, there were left-overs...), so you might think of making it one day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The recipe was very simple and the cake was, indeed, moist. The sugar was just about right but I think I would probably add more chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My DS wanted a chocolate cake for his birthday so I decided to try this one. He loved it! It wasnt until later that I told him what was in it. He got a little grossed out but now its a big joke. He wants the cake every year. I followed the recipe exactly as stated and it came out perfect. Word of advice though, dont tell anyone whats in it, just tell them its a secret recipe. I've had a few people who loved the cake until I told them what was in it, then they wouldnt touch it. Try it, you wont be disappointed. Its delicious and I dont even care for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The best Chocolate cake I have ever had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this cake for my Mother for her 74th Birthday everyone Loved it. Moist! Very Moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Sorry Aunt Joyce. Really disliked this cake. I made it exactly as written. Strange flavor, gummy (I didn't bake it quite long enough - it needed more than 35 minutes - my fault, but even on the edges where it was cooked thoroughly, it still wasn't very enjoyable). The one thing I will say - I turned it into a "Hello Kitty" cake for a birthday party, and the texture was perfect for that! Cutting out the cat shape was easy, and it came out of the pan nicely. I just wish we enjoyed the flavor and texture more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
No more box cake in this house. Yes, the ingredients are different but it came out so moist and has a wonderful chocolate flavor. I followed this recipe to a "T" and topped it with Mom's Buttercream Frosting by Adora Marchi from this site. Its a very fluffy frosting but not sweet, a wonderful compliment for such a great tasting cake. Thank you Karen for an awesome cake !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was looking for a moist dense chocolate cake and I found it in this one. This was so good I didn't even frost it. I only had semi-sweet chocolate squares so that is what I used. Didn't cut back on the sugar either but was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This cake went quickly, very moist, could have more chocolate flavor, but definitely made a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. The cake is one of the moistest cakes I've ever made and is really simple to make. We live in NJ (sea level) and it took about 55 minutes for the cake to bake, not the 30-35 minutes recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States