Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Couldn't stop eating this cake! It was amazing without any frosting and was sooo moist and dense. I actually suggest handmixing the chocolate and the flour mixtures and then using an electric mixer to incorporate the hot water because the consistancy won't be so fudgy, but either way the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this twice - once following the recipe and once changing the recipe to make it healthier. The recipe itself is fantastic - rich and moist. To make it healthier, I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour, Erythritol (a sugar alternative found in most health food stores under various brand names- no nasty aftertaste like Splenda) instead of sugar, and reduced fat olive oil mayo instead of the regular kind. The results were also fabulous. The texture was a bit coarser due to the whole grain, but it was still moist and chocolatey - and 200 calories a serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Overall Rating: (Taste, texture, consistency and appearance) = Poor Fortunately, I had the time to try this recipe before serving it to anyone. It takes twice as long as the submitter said to bake, it has unsavory gummy texture and taste and barely had any chocolate favour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Hands down the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever used. I've found that it needs a good 10-15 minutes more of bake time than the recipe states and since my husband loves it extra chocolatey I use milk chocolate squares instead of the unsweetened ones and often double the amount of chocolate. Absolutely amazing with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I hate giving a recipe a low rating. The texure was grainy and it wasn't as chocolaty at I anticipated. That's not the worst part. After I had thoroughly cooled it and took it out of the pan. The middle stuck to the bottom of the pna. I needed another choc cake in a curry so I bought a mix and nothing stuck (The first time I sprayed and dusted the cake pand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this for my husbands birthday and it was fantastic! Instead of the baking squares I used 9 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa and 3 tablespoons canola oil and instead of sugar I used 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I also put a butter cream frosting on and it was a hit! He ate almost the whole thing by himself straight from the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious!!! Perfectly moist. I've tried a few chocolate cake recipes using mayonnaise, and this one is a keeper. I found that I had to add half the flour mixture, then half the water, then repeat the process, as the batter is otherwise quite stiff if you wait to add the water last. I used a glass baking pan, so I lowered the temperature to 325F, and it took about 40 minutes to bake, and came out perfect! Everyone in the family loved it! A definite recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
There was an odd flavor that was off-putting, possibly from the vinegar? The texture was nice but not as moist as the submitter claimed, and the flavor improved a bit after the cake sat out on the kitchen counter for a day or so, but not enough to save it. My 8yo sugar-fiend who's never met a sweet she didn't like took one bite and pushed it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Oh my word this cake was sooo good. I made it for my husbands birthday yesterday and everyone loved it!! My soon to be 15 yr old son asked for this cake for his birthday. I made a homemade chocolate frosting for the top and it was AWESOME!!! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Recipe is just okay and not exceptionally good. To prevent lumps and overbeating due to efforts to take out the lumps --- it would be better to mix the flour alternately with the warm water, intead of adding the entire liquid after adding the entire flour. I still prefer my traditional recipe in terms of taste, flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States