Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The cake did not rise, and tasted odd. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
OMG!! beatiful. I love a really moist cake and this is by far the most moist recipe Ive tried.. the boyfriend thought it was a bit too moist but still gobbled it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Sorry, but I made it exactly according to directions, only exception being I cooked it in a Bundt pan. The entire outer layer stuck to the pan (which had been well greased.) So, I couldn't serve it at my daughter's birthday party, but I could taste the cake. Hardly any chocolate flavor at all, too salty, and an aftertaste of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
When I was in grade school, (many, MANY years ago) my best friend used to bring chocolate cake in her lunch and I would beg her for some of it. It was THE best chocolate cake I had ever had. I have spent the last 40 (or more) years looking for a recipe that came close to that cake. I think this recipe is it. The texture is perfect. It isn't soft like a mix cake, it's dense, and moist and fabulous. Alternately add the flour and water to the chocolate mixture and mix gently with a spoon or spatula...no need for whisks or power mixers. You simply must try this cake. It goes together quickly and is really, REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
REALLY GOOD! Super moist cake!!!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Far

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
followed the recipe to the tee, the only thing different was i made cupcakes and cooked for 24 mins. they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This cake was great! I did use 1 cup of coffee in place of one of the cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent chocolate cake! Very moist with good chocolate flavor and not overly sweet. The batter seems very thin when pouring it into the pan, but it's always come out fine. This has become my go to recipe for chocolate cake. I did try the recipe once with cake flour instead of all purpose flour and the texture was wrong; so I will stick to all purpose going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Creasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
A very moist and tasty cake. I halved the recipe and it still worked perfectly. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I've made a fair number of chocolate cakes in my time but this is now my "GO-TO" choc. cake. This is what Grammy made....this is what little kids dream of...this is what you make when you're DYING for a piece of choc. cake and you positively KNOW that nothing at the store or in a box is going to be worthy of your desire. This is also what you make when you don't have any eggs or oil in the house!! Because I have two friends who are gluten intolerant, I used this as a base and revamped it. THANK YOU AUNT JOYCE. Because it's different enough, if I can figure out how to get it on here, I'll enter it as Auntie Nee's APPLE Gluten free chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States