Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This cake is very delicious! I was in the mood last night to make something using ingredients I had at home and this was my first time trying a pound cake recipe. I have really enjoyed reading the reviews. Definitely a winner. Someone else suggested making the cake flour with all-purpose flour and corn starch. (1cup cake flour = 3/4 cup all-purpose + 2 tbs. + 2 tbs corn starch). It makes for a dense but smooth, melt-in-your-mouth consistency. I was glad there was no salt called for in the recipe. Big plus. Overall a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. Cake came out moist and tastes really good. Although I made few changes. Instead of 2 teaspoons of Almond extract, I used 1tsp of Vanilla Extract, 1/2tsp of Almond Extract and 1/2TSP of Lemon extract. I also added some diced almonds and dried berries. Came out really good. Kids really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Made exactly as written except used almond milk instead of regular. I think I over mixed because it came out so light it was closer to Angel Food cake than pound cake. I served it one night with grilled pineapple, another night I grilled the cake slices and served with strawberries and cream. Finally I grilled the cake and served with grilled pineapple and rum sauce. All were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I love this cake. I have made it just as written. I have also used it with different flavorings and it still is great. This is my go-to recipe for pound cake and have had numerous compliments. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Cut sugar to 2 1/4 c. Very nice pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've never been a fan of pound cake but decided I needed to have at least one good pound cake recipe. This cake exceeded all my expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
ive been making this cake for about 10 years now and have always gotten only the best feedback from family friends and co-workers everyone always wants to know my secert recipie since dayone ive never used the almond just pure vanilia always use the cake four to get this cake just right you really have to watch your mixing and putting all egg in at one time will make your batter way to runny but thank you so much for the best cake recipie i have i also made my oldest her flower shaped birthday cake outta this cake it was great with buttercream icing each petal was a oval cake with a circle cake in the middle after the party everyone took home their own petal it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
An excellent cake. This is a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have made this cake several times, all different ways. And all of them have been amazing. The first time, I made it by the directions. Then I decided to make it a bundt cake. That is what I will do from now on. I like to add coconut extract in the batter and make then make a chocolate glaze with melted semi sweet chocolate and condensed milk. Finally topped with chopped walnuts and shredded coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
The best pound cake I have ever made. I read some of the previous comments about how to make it better. The one I used was about taking a lot of time to make sure the sugar and butter is fluffy. I also used half vanilla and half almond extract. Such a lovely cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Stacey Palaszczuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States