Aunt Jewel's Chicken Dressing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
My parents really enjoyed this. My mom and I made homemade stuffing, and used cream of mushroom, b/c that's what she had. Also added half a packet of onion soup mix. I think it would have been bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I would have given this 3 stars but my husband loved it! I thought it was ok, not what I expected, too soupy. The only thing I did different was to use canned chicken, didn't have time for the boiling and shredding. If I make this again I will double the stuffing, half the soup, and cover it while it's cooking so the stuffing doesn't get crunchy. I guess it's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmorgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
My husband and I really liked this recipe. I don't know if I liked how crunchy the stuffing got but that could be easily remedied with a lid on it while cooking. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is wonderful. Even my picky kids ate 2 servings. I cubed the chicken before cooking and sauted it in some butter, garlic, and onion. I also doubled the stuffing like suggested in other reviews. Yummy!!! My husband says it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
READ THIS BEFORE MAKING IT.... I took advice from other reviews and mine turned out really good. I sauteed the chicken in a little butter and added diced onions and two cloves of garlic to the chicken while cooking to it. I also added some onion powder, salt and pepper. I used the amount of soup called for, but doubled the amount of stuffing and it paid off big time. Be sure to bake it uncovered so the stuffing isn't soggy. This was really good and I'll definitely make it again. My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I loved it, of course I added some of my own favorite seasonings, especially to the chicken. Some minced garlic and onion. My husband is not big on casseroles, although I love em. but he liked this one pretty well. I will throw this recipe in for dinner every once in a while but as often as I would l ike.thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I had to scale the recipe down to feed my family of 4. I started with 3 chicken breast fillets in a pot of water with a large dash each of salt, black pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder. As the chicken was boiling, I sauteed half a diced yellow onion in a small amount of butter. When the chicken was done (it took about 25 minutes), I cut it up & placed it in a 3-quart casserole dish. I combined half a can of cream of chicken soup, half a can of cream of celery soup, and half a can of skim milk and poured it over the chicken chunks. I stored the remaining soup in the freezer, to be used the next time I want to make this recipe. For the stuffing mixture, I added a soup-can full of chicken broth (left over from boiling the chicken breasts) to a 6-oz package of "savory herb" Stove Top stuffing. After spreading the stuffing mixture in the casserole dish, I topped it with the sauteed onions and baked in a preheated oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I served it with a side of corn and a green salad. My family liked this dish, but it tastes exactly like what it is: boiled chicken and boxed stuffing. The chicken was a bit bland, even with the spices I added; I would recommend adding even more seasoning. I would also use just one can of cream of chicken soup, but sautee a couple of stalks of diced celery (along with the onion) and mix them into the stuffing. I would also shred the cooked chicken instead of cutting it into chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My whole family LOVED this! What a great way to get a taste of Thanksgiving any time of the year! It's become a family favorite and my kids request it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Pretty bland for us but I will try this again and cook the chicken in a frying pan with a little butter and wine adding my favorite seasonings. Maybe this method of cooking the chicken will add the extra flavor we are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States