Aunt Jewel's Chicken Dressing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is tasty, simple comfort food. I did not pre-cook the chicken since it was going to bake for 45 mins and it tured out great! I did cut the recipe in 1/2 but used a whole box of stuffing. I also sprinkled the chicken with some Emeril's essence before baking. Served with baby peas. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMSHIRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Absloutely delicious. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My family really liked it,but I thought that it was missing something. I think next time I will add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
The best chicken-and-dressing recipe I've ever eaten! Usually they're too salty or too gloppy, but this was perfect. I too made a few changes: 1) I used one 12-oz. box Mrs. Cubbison's cornbread stuffing (both bags) with 1-1/2 c broth. 2) While the chicken boiled (20 min. was plenty), I sauteed 1 c. chopped onion, 1 c. chopped celery, and 1 c. peeled, chopped apple in 4 T. butter, then mixed it into the stuffing mixture. I baked the casserole in a 9x13 pan (20 min. covered, 15 minutes uncovered). We could NOT stop eating this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was really good and pretty easy. I made a couple of changes, per others' suggestions: 1) used TWO 6 oz pkgs of stuffing with 1.5 cups of chicken broth (I thought the cornbread stuffing was really good); 2) sauted garlic, 1/2 chopped onion, and celery in butter first, then mixed it in with the stuffing mixture; 3) added onion powder, sage, and rosemary to the stuffing mixture. My only problem was that I bought a rotisserie chicken, already cooked, from our store and that wasn't quite enough chicken for this dish. However it saved a bunch of time! Next time I will add more chicken. These amounts were perfect for a 9x13 dish. I cooked mine for 35 minutes total uncovered and it turned out wonderful! With these changes this is an excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Good recipe. Will definitely make again. I used only cream of chicken soup since I don't care much for cream of celery. I doubled the amount of stuffing as recommended by others, and it wasn't soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was ok. It was really easty to make, but I think it needs veggies, maybe some celery and carrots chopped up and thrown in would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was quick and easy to throw together, but if I make it again I will add more spices. I did double the stuffing as per other reviewers' suggestions, and I agree that is necessary (but add more broth to compensate!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe was a HUGE hit with my family dinner. Everyone liked it, from my uncle (who usually just pours ketchup and salt all over everything I cook) to my grandmother (who doesn't always approve). I used a whole chicken already cooked from the grocery store deli to save time, and it worked just as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Finally, a dish that the whole family enjoyed! I did make a few changes. I picked up an extra box of stuffing and I'm glad I did. One box wasn't enough to cover a 13x9 dish, but two was perfect. I used two pounds of chicken tenderloins. I spooned the soup mixture over the chicken enough to cover it, but reserved the rest of the mixture to keep the casserole from being too soupy. I added canned chicken broth to the reserved soup mixture and doubled the liquid used to moisten the stuffing, since I used two boxes. All three of my kids and my husband loved it, and that doesn't happen very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States