Aunt Janet's Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A good and easy recipe. Like it much better than pumpkin pie. Can easily use lower fat alternatives (low fat evaporated milk, and egg substitute)without any problems. I like to cut in the cold butter into the cake mix and then stir in the nuts. It makes for better distribution of the butter. Oh, and if you toast the nuts first it intesifies the flavor. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
A HUGE hit each time I make it & take it somewhere (I can't make it just for home becaused we can't leave it alone!) One thing I changed, instead of using all the different spices I simply used 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I love this recipe. I do tweak it a bit. I add half of the Cake mix into the pumpkin mixture to make a firmer pumpkin base when cooked. Since I used half of the cake mix in the batter I cut back on the Butter to 1/3 cup. Everyone loves it so much that, every time I serve it I have printed out recipes to hand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I have made this recipe for four potlucks this month! It is a great autumn dessert and so quick and easy to prepare! I did not find this recipe to be too spicy at all. In fact, my spice-sensitive children love this recipe just as much their parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I didn't like this cake, but everyone who ate it, raved about it. I thought it was way too sweet, and I felt like the top of the cake was way too "dusty". Next time, I would cut some of the seasonings in half, and use less cake mix on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
First time I made this, I loved it! I did use pumpkin pie spice instead of all the spices as I was out of some. I've made it a few times for the family since then. Changes I do, I use the larger can of pumpkin (30oz) and leave the rest of the amounts the same and no problems. I do 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I took this to a gathering at our local saddle club today. We have a lot of women there that are fabulous cooks and bakers. I've had people tell me things were good in the past. But this time, I had them asking for the recipe, I've been messaged on facebook for the recipe and compliments and I've even had some phone calls. I have never had that happen before. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This is one of the easiest and best dessert recipes I've ever made. I have made it many times, and have had many compliments and requests for the recipe. It is a good last-minute recipe and travels well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
This is an easy to make dump cake recipe for people who love pumpkin desserts. However, it is quite spicy, especially for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I live in Korea and didn't have evaporated milk, so I used regular milk and it turned out great! Delicious, a big hit at our Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This has good flavor, but I found the consistency somewhat soft, although I baked it as directed. Almost a pudding-like texture. But I cut it in small squares, put each in a muffin paper cup and served it as part of a desser tray--folks seemed to enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States