Aunt Janet's Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
YUMMY. But... I didn't follow the recipe exactly due to my father's heart disease. I cut out the butter and reduced the four eggs to one egg. I used about 1/2 the evap. milk. Skipped the sugar entirely, used half a box of cake mix and it was so good. Topped with a scant dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Very disappointing... way too eggy tasting. The pumpkin layer reminded me of cheesy egg bake (without the cheese, of course, but had a similar texture). Tasted better after refrigerating. The top was nice, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was sooooo good! Made it for Thanksgiving this year and got RAVE reviews. It's my new favorite alternative to pumpkin pie -- it's a great combination of pumpkin pie and pecan pie that's even better topped with whipped cream. Will definitely make again. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made this for teachers, in two 8x8 inch disposable pans. After I made the pumpkin mixture, I poured it from a large (8 cup) measuring cup, evenly into each pan. I then sprinkled the cake mix over each one (and left about 1/4 of the bag of mix because it seemed like too much). I used 1/2 cup butter in EACH 8 inch pan, and other dump cake recipes I've seen call for 1 cup butter for a 9x13 pan. It just didn't seem to coat enough with less. Put both in the oven and it took 45 minutes for them to turn golden brown in my oven, which cooks everything in an average amount of time. They turned out very nicely. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I have made this over and over again. Everyone LOVES it. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
LOVE THIS RECIPE. VERY SIMPLE AND HAD MANY COMPLIMENTS ON. LOTS REQUESTED THIS RECIPE. I CHOOSE TO USE A BUTTER CAKE AND I TOPPED IT WITH HOMEMADE WHIPPED CREAM MIXED WITH CONFECTIONERS SUGAR , VANILLA AND CINNAMON. ADDED THAT EXTRA TOUCH! WILL MAKE AGAIN. GREAT DISH TO SERVE FOR THANKSGIVING FOR A NICE CHANGE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
We had this brought to our Sunday School class one morning for "treats" and it was awesome (so good I had seconds). I am not a huge pumpkin fan, but this was very good. I will be taking it to Thanksgiving with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made this for dinner at mom's, and everyone loved it! They've already requested it for Thanksgiving. I cut the butter into the cake mix, and toasted the nuts prior to sprinkling them over the top, like suggested by other reviewers, and it was YUMMY! I also served it with coolwhip sprinkled with instant mulling spice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Very easy and all the guys at work loved it and asked for more (and for the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A good and easy recipe. Like it much better than pumpkin pie. Can easily use lower fat alternatives (low fat evaporated milk, and egg substitute)without any problems. I like to cut in the cold butter into the cake mix and then stir in the nuts. It makes for better distribution of the butter. Oh, and if you toast the nuts first it intesifies the flavor. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States