Aunt Janet's Pumpkin Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We like a little more texture, so in addition to nuts on top, I covered it with coconut - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmehl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I put a crust down in my pan and then put the pumpkin mixture over it.Then I dont use the full box of cake mix because its to thick. The crust makes it more like a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Amazingly yummy! It was so fast and easy to make. We all loved it! Thank you for sharing this excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This may be the best cake I've ever had in my entire life! I had leftover pumpkin pie filling today and didn't want to make a second cake, so I used this recipe. Wow! Now, I did make a few adjustments. Basically, I used carrot cake mix and mixed 1/2 of it into the pumpkin pie goop. Then, I sprinkled the rest of the dry mix on top and covered it w/ about 3/4 c of melted butter. Most of the dry mix was covered. I then took about a cup of pecans and put them on the top...pressing a bit so that they would get washed by the butter. I then baked for 1 hr 10 min at 350. I was using a spring form pan in a convection oven, so you may have to adjust time a little. My knife never came out completely clean and I was worried that it hadn't set, but it was fine and WOW! Hope you enjoy and thanks for the great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have made this recipe many times. I do change it up just a bit.Trader Joe's organic pumpkin is a bit firmer than the other brands, and works great in this recipe. Instead of adding individual spices, I add 4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar in the pumpkin mix. After the pumpkin mix is blended thoroughly, I stir in 1/2 to 3/4 cup of the cake mix. It makes it a firmer dessert. I will always make this cake for company, events, etc. Thank youfor the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
First time I made this, I loved it! I did use pumpkin pie spice instead of all the spices as I was out of some. I've made it a few times for the family since then. Changes I do, I use the larger can of pumpkin (30oz) and leave the rest of the amounts the same and no problems. I do 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I took this to a gathering at our local saddle club today. We have a lot of women there that are fabulous cooks and bakers. I've had people tell me things were good in the past. But this time, I had them asking for the recipe, I've been messaged on facebook for the recipe and compliments and I've even had some phone calls. I have never had that happen before. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I liked this dessert very much at first. But, after my second taste decided it was way too sweet. Maybe more melted butter for the topping would help. The pumpkin part was good--topping too, too sugary for my liking. Easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this exactly as written. I thought the flavor was great, not too spicy at all. But the top cakey part was way too dusty and dry, and it had these hard disc-like pieces all over the top that we couldn't cut through. I thought it would be more moist and have a cake consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I live in Korea and didn't have evaporated milk, so I used regular milk and it turned out great! Delicious, a big hit at our Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States