Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This was a complete disaster. The proportion of oats was so high that the mixture was far too dry, and the end results tasted like baked porridge. I had to throw the whole lot away. I checked and double-checked the quantities, so I can't work out why my experience was so different from that of the other reviewers, but I certainly won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My friends and I did a cookie exchange a few weekends ago. These were voted the best out of 7 different cookies. They were awesome, thank you so much for sharing. I'll bake these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Wonderful wonderful cookies!! I think I was a little generous with the cinnamon and vanilla.. to personal taste.. My golden delicious apples were a bit small so I used two. I added a few raisins and some semi-sweet choc. chips.. and OH goodness!!! These are "keepers".. I mean "Eatters"!! We'll make these again and again. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
Absolutely Delicious! I added a pinch of nutmeg. These cookies don't spread out when you put them in the oven. The shape going in is what you get coming out. This is something that always baffles me so I thought I'd mention it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
We've made these 3 times in the last 3 weeks. I think these are GREAT! A recipe keeper. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I didn't put the glaze over them and loved them just as they are!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Awesome recipe! My son loves these cookies. We omitted the walnuts and it was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Made these adding 1/2 tsp. ground cardamom (try it in your next apple pie) and a pinch of ground cloves. Added raisins and Hershey's cinnamon chips along with the walnuts. These cookies are to die for! Moist and sweet. I may cut down a little bit on the sugar next time. These cookies are ugly, though, and desparately need the drizzled glaze. Make sure it's thick enough to be opaque and stand up a bit on the cookie. Then, these are nice enough to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
Amazing cookies-- the proportions of the ingredients are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I really loved these. I left out the walnuts (not a fan). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as stated, using Fuji apples (my favorite). I ended up refrigerating the dough for a couple of hours before I could bake them (my own fault with scheduling). The result was fibrous and cakey/muffin-like, with sweet icing as a great balance to the not-so-sweet cookie. If you don't like sweets much, they're great without the icing, too (I know.. I checked!). =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States