Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Very nice! Made the house smell wonderful baking too. Used a gala(quite large one) and shredded w/the skin on for added color and nutrients. Was interested how they would turn out with the proportion of oatmeal to flour, but they are so soft and moist! Full of fiber. Besides the 2 tsp. cinnamon, I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/4 allspice, and 1/4 cardamom. All the spices complimented the other and none were overpowering. Did not have nuts so omitted. Made 26 cookies using the smaller size cookie scoop. Not sure I will even frost them. They aren't overly sweet and sickening. Make sure you shape them up a little before putting in the oven; how they go in is the shape they come out. Can fit alot on each sheet because they do not spread. Very nice recipe! **UPDATE: I did decide to ice these. Just stirred together some 10x sugar, milk, and 1/2 tsp. black walnut extract, and 1/4 butter extract. They are now sooo awesome. The icing does enhance the flavor of the cookie, and the extracts used are perfect compliments. This will be my way to go w/the icing flavors for this cookie. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This was a complete disaster. The proportion of oats was so high that the mixture was far too dry, and the end results tasted like baked porridge. I had to throw the whole lot away. I checked and double-checked the quantities, so I can't work out why my experience was so different from that of the other reviewers, but I certainly won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
These cookies are so moist and delicious! They were quick to make, nutritious and not too sweet. Shredding the apple makes the cookies a little too messy for me, but if you chop the apple these cookies come out PERFECT! I added a dash of cinnamon to my glaze as well, and they were fantastic:) The whole family gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
Absolutely Delicious! I added a pinch of nutmeg. These cookies don't spread out when you put them in the oven. The shape going in is what you get coming out. This is something that always baffles me so I thought I'd mention it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Made these adding 1/2 tsp. ground cardamom (try it in your next apple pie) and a pinch of ground cloves. Added raisins and Hershey's cinnamon chips along with the walnuts. These cookies are to die for! Moist and sweet. I may cut down a little bit on the sugar next time. These cookies are ugly, though, and desparately need the drizzled glaze. Make sure it's thick enough to be opaque and stand up a bit on the cookie. Then, these are nice enough to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Wonderful wonderful cookies!! I think I was a little generous with the cinnamon and vanilla.. to personal taste.. My golden delicious apples were a bit small so I used two. I added a few raisins and some semi-sweet choc. chips.. and OH goodness!!! These are "keepers".. I mean "Eatters"!! We'll make these again and again. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
Quick and easy, not too sweet. I didn't bother peeling the apples--extra fiber, you know! I also added chocolate chips to half the batch--never a bad idea. A nice way to use cooking apples without the trouble of a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
This recipe is so tasty and it's healthy too!! My five year old son did almost everything when we made these. I made the mistake of making them for a family function, and now I am overwhelmed with requests! Highly recommended for a quick and tasty nutritious treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My friends and I did a cookie exchange a few weekends ago. These were voted the best out of 7 different cookies. They were awesome, thank you so much for sharing. I'll bake these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This recipe is incredible! I almost ate it raw because the "cookie dough" was so good! I actually baked mine longer (25 minutes or so) and made them into cookie bars. I also didn't shred the apple. I peeled it and cut it into little chunks. Delicious recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States