Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
wow these cookies are really yummy!!! after reading some of the other reviews i decided to add ground cloves and nutmeg to the mix. i also added dried cranberries and then added semi-sweet chips to half. these are truely delicious and i can't stop eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ahmilya
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I doubled the cinnamon and added nutmeg. This is a very soft and cakey cookie. Not bad, but not great. I think this is too bland, but my mum likes them. They really do need the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Very nice! Made the house smell wonderful baking too. Used a gala(quite large one) and shredded w/the skin on for added color and nutrients. Was interested how they would turn out with the proportion of oatmeal to flour, but they are so soft and moist! Full of fiber. Besides the 2 tsp. cinnamon, I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/4 allspice, and 1/4 cardamom. All the spices complimented the other and none were overpowering. Did not have nuts so omitted. Made 26 cookies using the smaller size cookie scoop. Not sure I will even frost them. They aren't overly sweet and sickening. Make sure you shape them up a little before putting in the oven; how they go in is the shape they come out. Can fit alot on each sheet because they do not spread. Very nice recipe! **UPDATE: I did decide to ice these. Just stirred together some 10x sugar, milk, and 1/2 tsp. black walnut extract, and 1/4 butter extract. They are now sooo awesome. The icing does enhance the flavor of the cookie, and the extracts used are perfect compliments. This will be my way to go w/the icing flavors for this cookie. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This cookie is awesome..soft & cake like..it didn't dry out like some oatmeal cookies do & stores well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
this recipe is very good. but you need to add more cinnamon and I also added 1/4 cup of white sugar. I had read this in other reviews. my kids loved this recipe. We left out the walnuts and did not use the glaze. I would definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I didn't put the glaze over them and loved them just as they are!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I really loved these. I left out the walnuts (not a fan). Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as stated, using Fuji apples (my favorite). I ended up refrigerating the dough for a couple of hours before I could bake them (my own fault with scheduling). The result was fibrous and cakey/muffin-like, with sweet icing as a great balance to the not-so-sweet cookie. If you don't like sweets much, they're great without the icing, too (I know.. I checked!). =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Nice cookie recipe! Especially good for folks who don't enjoy super-sweet cookies. I used two small apples, no walnuts and replaced butter with Crisco -- the recipe came out just fine. Drizzled icing on the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
Absolutely Delicious! I added a pinch of nutmeg. These cookies don't spread out when you put them in the oven. The shape going in is what you get coming out. This is something that always baffles me so I thought I'd mention it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I would not make these cookies again. They were pretty bland - didn't like the texture or the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States