Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Would have made a lot more but was eating up most of the dough LOL! Yum! Just wanted to comment on the spreading as two reviews I read mentioned that however they looked before you put them in was exactly what you got when you took them out. I Have my first batch in the oven and they are spreading out just fine; not too much but just enough. I used margarine instead of butter if that makes a difference? Also didn't shred the apple but chopped pretty finely. Well just took first batch out and I do declare! These are pretty dang good without the icing even!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Rosalia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
awesome...fresh out of the oven. I chunked the apples, did not shred it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bill
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent Soft Apple cookie. Quick and easy to make...will be one of my favorites from now on! Thanks Aunt Hazel ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were heavenly. I followed other cooks' ideas -- added nutmeg and cloves, and just chopped the apple with the peel left on. I used about a 3-1 ratio of butter and applesauce to lighten it up, and they turned out great. Mine needed to be baked a lot longer because I forgot to flatten them out ahead of time -- you really need to do that. Thanks for sharing a great, quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are so yummy! Make sure you flatten the dough balls a little before you bake, as these keep their shape. I will be placing this recipe in my keeper box. YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraJLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Too much oats, it tasted like I was eating a bowl of oatmeal! (FYI-I used quick-oats because that's all I had, maybe that had something to do with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Not an overly sweet cookie - perfect texture - I used an apple diced up instead of shredded. The icing is a nice compliment to the cookie. I will definitely be making this often this fall. I used a cookie scoop and just dropped them and baked on parchment paper for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Added a pinch of nutmeg and finely shredded the apples like applesauce. Otherwise made them exactly like the recipe. They were wonderful, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Reijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I just tried this recipe and found it to be quite good. I'm not sure what CAROLINEFO did wrong, but if her attempts came out dry then I don't know what to tell her. My first batch looked so liquidy that I worried that they would not hold their shape and run all over the baking sheet. But my fear proved groundless and they came out fine. My only problem is that mine tasted a bit bland. Though I did add spices: 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp cloves, & 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I think my problem was too much ginger and not enough nutmeg. (We cooks do love to tinker with recipes, or at least this cook does.) I will update this next time I make them. I'd do it now except I ran out of oatmeal. I had only just enough for the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Excellent. To make it lower fat I used egg replacer ("better than egg") and also used 1/4 c applesauce and 1/4 cup butter in place of the 1/2 c. butter. Delicious and more nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States