Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I replaced the butter with the applesauce to reduce the fat content and did 2 shredded apples instead of 1. Still very good and very moist. I was scared the applesauce would mess the recipe up but it gave it a great flavor! Wonderful and easy recipe. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Delicious. A new family favorite. I had no walnuts on hand so I used finely crushed peanuts and the flavor made me think of a carmel apple covered in peanuts. Also, instead of cinnamon, I used a cinnamon blend from The Pampered Chef and added some of that in the icing. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Not a perfect 5, but still very good. Turned out quite moist and I did add the glaze (with some cinnamon added) and that did add a lot to the cookie. I omitted the nuts and used 2 apples though 1 1/2 probably would've been better. Chopped one finely and shredded the other. Added a pinch of cloves just because I like that when cooking with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
These were exceptional! Very moist, almost a cake-like consistency. I did have some variations. They were: 1 1/2 cups oats, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (along with the cinnamon, not in place of), and omitted the nuts for a little more apple. I also kept adding 1 tsp. of milk at a time to the glaze, along with a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. I thought the recommended amount was not runny enough for drizzling. HOWEVER, I am sure the original with no variations would be just as excellent. Mine was changed because of personal preferences. Def. making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
So good...I did make them smaller and frosted with canned cream cheese icing. I was short on time....everyone loves them. This is going to be a real fall staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
They are moist but the oats are too too heavy and chewy. The flavor is not as good as I hoped even with the raisins I added. I'm not going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Would have made a lot more but was eating up most of the dough LOL! Yum! Just wanted to comment on the spreading as two reviews I read mentioned that however they looked before you put them in was exactly what you got when you took them out. I Have my first batch in the oven and they are spreading out just fine; not too much but just enough. I used margarine instead of butter if that makes a difference? Also didn't shred the apple but chopped pretty finely. Well just took first batch out and I do declare! These are pretty dang good without the icing even!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Rosalia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
awesome...fresh out of the oven. I chunked the apples, did not shred it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bill
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent Soft Apple cookie. Quick and easy to make...will be one of my favorites from now on! Thanks Aunt Hazel ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were heavenly. I followed other cooks' ideas -- added nutmeg and cloves, and just chopped the apple with the peel left on. I used about a 3-1 ratio of butter and applesauce to lighten it up, and they turned out great. Mine needed to be baked a lot longer because I forgot to flatten them out ahead of time -- you really need to do that. Thanks for sharing a great, quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States