Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
A really good toddler treat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Tasty. These cookies have a cake-like texture. My one complaint is the order of ingredients in the recipe. Eggs should be listed after brown sugar and butter. Why? Because I missed that one ingredient, my mixture wouldn't stick together. But I had made these cookies once before, so I knew something was missing and added them at the end. Perhaps that's what happened to the person who thought it was too dry and dubbed the recipe a disaster. If you follow the recipe, you'll be pleased with the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Hooray for Aunt Hazel! These were delicious! I made them to send in my kids' lunchboxes, so I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup shredded zucchini to the mix. They turned out great! Will definitely be making these again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerwindsor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These cookies are great! I only did a couple of things differently. One of which was I chopped the apple into small pieces rather than shredding it, and I just drizzled a bit of the frosting on. These cookies are already so tasty that I think an entire coating of frosting would have taken away from it. But the proportions of everything else are perfect! I will most definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I replaced the butter with the applesauce to reduce the fat content and did 2 shredded apples instead of 1. Still very good and very moist. I was scared the applesauce would mess the recipe up but it gave it a great flavor! Wonderful and easy recipe. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Delicious. A new family favorite. I had no walnuts on hand so I used finely crushed peanuts and the flavor made me think of a carmel apple covered in peanuts. Also, instead of cinnamon, I used a cinnamon blend from The Pampered Chef and added some of that in the icing. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Not a perfect 5, but still very good. Turned out quite moist and I did add the glaze (with some cinnamon added) and that did add a lot to the cookie. I omitted the nuts and used 2 apples though 1 1/2 probably would've been better. Chopped one finely and shredded the other. Added a pinch of cloves just because I like that when cooking with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
These were exceptional! Very moist, almost a cake-like consistency. I did have some variations. They were: 1 1/2 cups oats, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (along with the cinnamon, not in place of), and omitted the nuts for a little more apple. I also kept adding 1 tsp. of milk at a time to the glaze, along with a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. I thought the recommended amount was not runny enough for drizzling. HOWEVER, I am sure the original with no variations would be just as excellent. Mine was changed because of personal preferences. Def. making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
So good...I did make them smaller and frosted with canned cream cheese icing. I was short on time....everyone loves them. This is going to be a real fall staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States