Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These turned out fabulous. I chopped the apples with skins, I used pecans because I'm in Mexico. Nutmeg and aged organic vanilla were added in both batter and icing, which is a nice touch. I didn't have a problem shaping them up a bit but they are a chunky type cookie, melting the butter a little in the microwave helps. I liked them a little more browned for crispness so baked them about 14 mins. They tasted better the next day as opposed to straight out of the oven. Oh! A little shredded ginger or powdered is a nice addition! Provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Added one cup raisins, a favorite with preschoolers (their teacher asked for the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are quite good. I've made as written and have also made replacing half the butter with applesauce and noticed no difference. They aren't overly sweet on their own, so I wouldn't leave out the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These cookies turned out wonderfully! I'd only add that this recipe is great for apples that are softer than Granny Smith/good cooking apples. I added diced soft apples (Fuji, I think) and then they ended up shredding partially when I mixed them into the cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These just weren't tasty at all. The flavor is severely lacking. I was going to make these for church but I will just have to let the kids eat them and buy some from the store for church. They are just bland. I even added some extra spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Good if you're in the mood for apples in a cookies, would add raisins as well next time, but did not put the icing on them. They were good and tasted healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
These are nice, moist cakey cookies that aren't super sweet. I did not use the walnuts (my daughter is allergic) and I did not peel the (organic Gala) apples. Doubled with no problems; added a pinch each of cloves and allspice and baked about 10 minutes at 350 convection. Used water, pinch of cinnamon, and vanilla for the glaze. Be careful not to overbake (dry) or underbake (fall apart) these. They look dry but not brown when they are baked enough. This is a good choice to get some healthy ingredients in a treat. I took some to a 4th of July party and they disappeared before the chocolate birthday cake! Great for a grab and go coffee treat, or in a lunchbox. They do not keep more than a couple days though, and stick together in the cookie jar. Overall I was very pleased with these and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I just tried this for the first time - I just happened to have everything I needed. These were very moist and easy. To ensure the batter wouldn't be too dry, I added 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce to it. They were great - my house smells amazing! Two things: next time I will use granny smith apples for more flavor (I only had golden delicious on hand) and a past reviewer is right - they do NOT spread so be sure to flatten them a bit. My first tray - the bottoms were a bit overdone and the tops were still a bit wet. From there on out I flattened them out some and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
A really good toddler treat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Tasty. These cookies have a cake-like texture. My one complaint is the order of ingredients in the recipe. Eggs should be listed after brown sugar and butter. Why? Because I missed that one ingredient, my mixture wouldn't stick together. But I had made these cookies once before, so I knew something was missing and added them at the end. Perhaps that's what happened to the person who thought it was too dry and dubbed the recipe a disaster. If you follow the recipe, you'll be pleased with the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States