Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
So yummy. The icing makes all the difference. I did chop my apples into very small dice instead of shredding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Love that this recipe uses fresh apples. It's cakey and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm surprised at all the reviews saying these were dry, as mine came out ultra-moist, more like a muffin than a cookie. They were tasty but I was looking for a chewier cookie, less cakey. I'm in Germany though so I think the flour and butter are a bit different and that may have been what caused it. Next time I'll halve the butter I think. Good overall recipe, I did add nutmeg and had a heavy hand with the cinnamon, but I could've gone for even more spice. I didn't glaze them as I found them to be plenty sweet without (but I also used a very sweet and juicy apple).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
MMMM! Made as directed, the kids love these! Doubled the batch, glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I first tasted these straight out of the oven and wasn't so impressed. But later that evening, once cooled, they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
A new favorite! The cookie is not very sweet, so a glaze really is beneficial. I followed recommendations from earlier reviews (press the cookies down as they do not flatten on their own, add raisins and a little allspice) then used a caramel glaze, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I liked the texture and smell of the cookies, but they needed more spice and more apple flavor. Next time I will add more apples and maybe some nutmeg. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I ran out of all purpose flour so I had to substitute a bit for bread flour, but they still turned out great! I also cut up the apple into small pieces instead of shredding and added a bit of nutmeg and raisins. After reading the reviews that said they came out of the oven the same way they went in, I took special care to shape them when I put them on the cookie sheet :) No glaze needed as they were fantastic alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
So I followed the recipe as given with one change and I've done this with a apple bread recipe i cored the apple and grated it right over the mix and as usually turned out awesome. The juice and all goes right into the mix with makes it moist and no huge chunks which is great when you have an 18 month old who is still learning to use his teeth :p. Thanks for the awesome recipe that my little man loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
made a healthier (aka not as tasty but good enough) version. used 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 c applesauce instead of butter, no walnuts (didn't have) and no icing. shredded apple, but can't really taste it. might try small chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States