Aunt Hazel's Apple Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love love love these cookies! Definitely worth the extra couple minutes to add the frosting, much better with it! I took the advise from other reviews and added 1/4 c applesauce and I also added a little bit of pumpkin spice. I'm not even sure how to shred an apple, I just chopped it real fine at it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe, this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Benson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My family LOVED this recipe! I usually have awful luck with oatmeal cookies, but I used this recipe as a base and made a few changes ... we will definitely double the recipe next time! Changes: instead of 2 c. oats and 1 c. apples, I used 2.25 c. of instant oatmeal (cinnamon/apple flavor). I also cut the salt by 1/2 and used allspice instead of cinnamon--and instead of 1/2 c. nuts I used 1/2 c. crunchy peanut butter. The finished product didn't need the sugary topping---they had plenty of flavor and were quite moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I added a half tsp. of nutmeg and shredded half the apple and chopped the other half. The cookies were okay but nothing super exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Excellent cookies!Yummy........ I did follow someones suggestion and I used nutmeg, allspice and cardamon along with the cinnamon. I also did not grated the apple just chopped fine. Made a thick glaze with the powdered sugar and milk, but added a little fresh ground cinnamon. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These are tasty, though they didn't knock my socks off. I was expecting a chewier, more appley cookie. Still good though!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I love this recipe but did a little tweaking for my needs. I'm a busy gal with my 2 month old daughter so I decided to make these into bars instead just because it was faster for me. I also added a second apple, 2 more eggs, and a package of cheesecake pudding mix. Put it into my 9x13 and baked at 350 for about 50 minutes or until done in the middle. I let it cool and drizzled on some glazemade of milk vanilla butter and vanilla. These don't last long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Delicious, delicious, delicious. I took others advice and added allspice, and a little extra cinnamon. These have a true guilt-free feeling to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
So yummy. The icing makes all the difference. I did chop my apples into very small dice instead of shredding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Love that this recipe uses fresh apples. It's cakey and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm surprised at all the reviews saying these were dry, as mine came out ultra-moist, more like a muffin than a cookie. They were tasty but I was looking for a chewier cookie, less cakey. I'm in Germany though so I think the flour and butter are a bit different and that may have been what caused it. Next time I'll halve the butter I think. Good overall recipe, I did add nutmeg and had a heavy hand with the cinnamon, but I could've gone for even more spice. I didn't glaze them as I found them to be plenty sweet without (but I also used a very sweet and juicy apple).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States