Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The only thing I regret about this recipe is that I halved it! This is sooooo good...light crispy texture with chewy oats and crunchy almonds (I added 30 g. finely chopped blanched almonds). I rolled the dough into 1-inch ball and flatten it with hand. With this you would get real thin lace cookies later (Surprisinly my cookies didnt spread much as some reviews.)Make sure you line the sheet with foil and let the cookies cool (they are very fragile coming out from the oven.) before lift them with spatula. They will be easily removed and you would get nice round cookies. I would definitely do it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I just finished baking these, fantastic. I'm not sure why everyone's are not looking like a lace cookie. Mine resembled the perfect lace cookie. Followed the recipe to a T, will use this recipe from here on out. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The dough tastes amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were not really lace cookies. I wanted to try it, but will stick with my old recipe. They were okay but will not bother to make again. Really crumbly and fell apart easily. Not too carmalized like I would have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I would give this recipe a 5, but these really aren't "lace" cookies, as "lace" cookies spread very, very thin and even have holes or spaces in them like lace. Maybe they should be called oatmeal crisps. Mine look just like the ones in the photo. Regardless, these cooked up lovely-very light and crispy, very sweet. The taste was great. Mine turned out much too delicate to put in a tin of cookies mixed with others as they would just fall apart. I may try the suggestion of using 1/2 brown sugar to make them less crispy. These would be very nice served alone with coffee or tea after a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are very good. The reason I give only 4 stars is that they LOOK a little bland - though the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I haven't had these in years. Excellent recipe. They are delicious drizzled with melted peanut butter chips and semi sweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugardiva1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Delicious! I'm lactose intolerant, and we were out of eggs tonight. Quick, delicious, and the best part is you can eat the raw batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Grimm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made these cookies because I wanted something using rolled oats that didnt require brown sugar(didn't have any brown sugar) I didn't really care for these. My 2 year old daughter and my 27 year old nephew loved them. I tried not pressing them, they came out a bit better, then I added cinnamon.I gave the a 4 because others liked them. They weren't bad, just not all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigMocha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Good flavor not quite a lace cookie though. I realized after making them that for that fine thin texture I wanted, melted butter is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States