Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
So yummy! I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar as recommended. I also used a tsp to scoop the dough and made sure each one was level so the cookies were pretty uniform. Tried melted semi-sweet chocolate, but I felt like it took away from the delicious flavor of the cookie. I made a few with sugar on top but they burned so quickly. Next time I will not use sugar on top. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee816

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Exceptionally good cookies. Be careful, 'cause they crumble easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow- I made some changes and these were great! I took the advice of another person and used ha;f brown sugar, I omitted the almond extract, and replaced half of the butter with vanilla yogurt. It was just an experiment and it turned out great, but with a very strong vanilla flavor. Next time I will try these with whole wheat flour. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Awesome cookies. Made them just as the recipe states. I lined the pan with aluminum foil and sprayed the foil as well. I think the key to getting crispy and not crumbly cookies is to flatten them out nice and even prior to putting them in the oven. I let them cool for a couple of minutes and them removed them from the pan with my hand instead of a spatula. I let them cool completely on a flat surface with paper towels. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Awh! These are the best recipe for oatmeal cookies. The butter makes them! I substituted Splenda and a little Stevia for sugar and my husband, a diabetic, loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These were very, very buttery and very tasty. I decided to coat the bottoms of a few of them with melted chocolate. I melted some milk chocolate chocolate chips in a double boiler and took a teaspoon of chocolate and spread it on the bottom of the cookie- they were too fragile to dip. Great concept, bad execution- the chocolate didn't set up. DH (the cookie eater in the house) liked them both ways, though! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
the only change I made was equivalise this to uk measurements and I swapped the sugar to 100grams of caster sugar and 98 grams of soft light brown sugar and used demerara on the top and they came out fabulous I shall saving this recipe for future holidays so tell aunty gail she done well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
i really liked this, it was so easy to make. i was making it for a cookie swap so i made 3 batches, the first time i made just one and they turned out fine. the second time i doubled it and they didn't spread as well. still great. i just used vanilla extract, no almond. i will most definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies did not turn out as well as I thought they would. They were very easy to make, but the finished product was not edible. They were crumbly and way too sweet! I am all for sweet cookies, but not when I can feel the grains of sugar. The cookies almost resembled the texture of eating sweet sand. I am glad everyone else liked them, but I had zero success with the recipe. So I am off to hunt for another recipe for lace cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a delicious cookie! Very buttery and airy. I made them for Christmas, and when I flattened them prior to baking I put white chocolate chips and craisins on top (instead of sugar). I also used parchment paper-lined stones to bake them and they did NOT flatten like they do on a normal cookie sheet! They did expand but i tried a batch without the p.paper and they were way too thin...the paper made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States