Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Do not use margarine. Not even recognizable as a cookie. A major stuck to the pan mess. I maybe able to use the resulting crumbles over vanilla yogurt or icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Hawkyard
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I fell in love with this cookie when I moved from california to minnesota. They were called Norwegian oatmeal cookies, and when I moved to Arizona, noone knew what I was talking about...THANK YOU! these are very close, if not right on!!! and they are wonderful..I didnt have almond extract, but I chopped up almonds very fine and threw them in the mix with the oatmeal. They were fine. Next time I will add the almonds and maybe use walnuts with them. Also, did not think they were to sweet, and the ones I used to munch on in mn had a iced top. I Iced these ones and....mmmm mmm! THANK YOU AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These cookies are amazing and after one bite became my husbands favorite cookie (and he's a picky cookie eater!) The only change I made was 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla. Great job Aunt Gail!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were easy and delicious! My husband can't stop eating them! I added finely chopped walnuts to the mix which gave the cookies a "walnut brittle" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Super easy and quick to make and they look gorgeous! Possibly a bit too sweet, but I think that just depends on the person eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Great and easy recipe! I didn't have Almond extract and I used half brown sugar, half regular and it turned out perfect. My husband ate half the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These are superb. I love oatmeal lace cookies and was looking for an easy recipe -- and this is it! I didn't have any almond extract to use so I just used all vanilla, but will definitely do the almond next time I make them. They came out light, slightly buttery. The only problem: they look so much healthier than they are and you can just eat and eat them! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly...cookies turned out flatter than a pancake. Too bad, needed a no egg dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Unable to help at my newlywed daughter's move to her new home, I made a big batch of chili and dessert goodies to feed her helpers. I'm not a big oatmeal fan but this recipe seemed relatively easy and made enough for everyone. After the first batch, I reduced the size a little hoping to make them as flat as possible. I followed the directions as written. A very little amount of butter helped to anchor the parchment paper to the bottom of the cookie sheet. Then again, a very small bit of butter to lightly coat the top of the parchment. The only difficulty I ran into was that the dough stuck to the bottom of the glass as I flattened them. Instead, with a little effort, I used my sugared fingers to shape and flatten the dough. After baking the cookies I put the still filled cookie sheet on a rack to cool off for 5 - 10 minutes, then using an offset spatula transferred the cookies back to the rack to cool completely. I didn't have a problem with the cookies sticking at all. I wish I knew why this worked out for me as it would have been nice to pass along some tips to reviewers having a hard time with the cookies sticking. Using butter instead of spray maybe? My daughter called to rave over these cookies, which apparently got eaten before the chili. She described them as melt in your mouth. I was left with only a few which were gone in about 5 minutes. If I can promise myself not to eat them all in one sitting, I'll be making these tomorrow. REALLY REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
cookiis: GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States