Aunt Gail's Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made them today, as I read the recipe I got concerned, no eggs? I thought oh no, a misprint, but I pushed on with it. These cookies are so delicate, crisp and delicious I was amazed. They DO SPREAD a lot, so take heed, give them space. My husband is devouring them as I write this. He loves to dunk cookies in milk, these are too thin to dunk, but he loves them so much , he is willing to forgo dunking. I emailed this recipe to a dear friend, and I rarely do that. These are absolutely amazing ! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
cut the recipe in half and it was to greasy. Good flavor will try again with the full recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Please send my HUGE thank you to your Aunt Gail. I just made these cookies and they turned out picture perfect. I followed the recipe except that I used Splenda Mix. The cookies were all uniform in size and baked golden brown. I love almond extract so this was a bonus flavor I usually do not use in oatmeal cookies. They are delicious! I will most definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are best oatmeal cookies. I didn't have to tweak the recipe at all and they were fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I wanted to give this 5 stars, but I wanted a crisp hard cookie. After the cookies sat out for a few hours they were on the soft and crumblely side. I did not like the sugar coated glass idea. The cookies would stick to the buttom of the glass or the sugar would get all wet. I flatten the cookies with my fingers, like you would a peanut butter cookie. We also dribbled melted chocolate chips over the tops in a random pattern after the cookie had cooled. There were still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very tasty but extremely greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Do not use margarine. Not even recognizable as a cookie. A major stuck to the pan mess. I maybe able to use the resulting crumbles over vanilla yogurt or icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I fell in love with this cookie when I moved from california to minnesota. They were called Norwegian oatmeal cookies, and when I moved to Arizona, noone knew what I was talking about...THANK YOU! these are very close, if not right on!!! and they are wonderful..I didnt have almond extract, but I chopped up almonds very fine and threw them in the mix with the oatmeal. They were fine. Next time I will add the almonds and maybe use walnuts with them. Also, did not think they were to sweet, and the ones I used to munch on in mn had a iced top. I Iced these ones and....mmmm mmm! THANK YOU AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These cookies are amazing and after one bite became my husbands favorite cookie (and he's a picky cookie eater!) The only change I made was 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla. Great job Aunt Gail!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were easy and delicious! My husband can't stop eating them! I added finely chopped walnuts to the mix which gave the cookies a "walnut brittle" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States