Aunt Eileen's Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My hubby who doesn't like eggplant at all ate this. I accidentally added too many bread crumbs (i cut the recipe in half) so i threw in an egg and some zucchini and extra black olives! I also used italian flavored bread crumbs cuz it was all i had on hand. Which made it a little overpowering with all the other flavors, but i still thought it was good, will be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe..I didn't have any black olives, and i used swiss cheese (8oz) instead, and it still came out GREAT. I can't wait to try it with the gruyere chese, and black olives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I like it very much. ALready made it twice and guess will make it soon again. It's very easy to make yet so tasty. A bit hot, so you can add less pepper. It's really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Loved this! It looked like something you might order at a fancy restaurant (I used one long skinny eggplant cut in half lenghtwise). I also used purple onions in the recipe and served baby greens in a side salad. There was so much color on the plate I almost didn't want to eat it! Even my steak-loving roommate loved it. Thanks for this easy and beautiful recipe, Aunt Eileen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Ica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. I put in a little more garlic than it called for, and we used sharp cheddar cheese instead of gruyere. It was really delicious! We had some ideas of using the filler for appetizers by stuffing mushroom caps with it or wrapping it in filo dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
this was delicious!!! i made it twice in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Thanks, Aunt Eileen! What an incredible vegetarian recipe! Hollow the eggplant halves to leave a very thin layer (1/4 inch) of flesh, so that when it bakes, the remaining flesh is cooked tender and pulls easily away from the skin... I deglazed the pan with some of the vinegar from the capers jar to get the great caramelization from the bottom and added it to the bowl of stuffing... I also substituted Pecorino Romano cheese for the Gruyere (because that's what I had)... I really was surprised at how well it turned out... I will definitely invite guests the next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very easy and extremely tasty! I used Asiago cheese instead - I also baked on a cooking stone. I added more garlic/onion and hot pepper. Excellent, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Great recipe!! I also added two cans of Devil's Ham to the mixture to give it a meaty flavor. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Great recipe! My meat-loving boyfriend even liked it. I put the eggplant, onion and garlic in the food processor and I put the filling in the refrigerator for a couple hours to allow the flavors to develop. Thanks! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States